Data Services Librarian
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
Open Dataset Repositories
- UC Irvine Machine Learning RepositoryThe UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms.
- DatabraryVideo data library for behavioral scientists
- DataLumosDataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
- Data Rescue ProjectThe Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.
- Center for Open ScienceThe Center for Open Science (COS) was founded in 2013 to start, scale, and sustain open research practices that will democratize access to research, improve inclusion of all stakeholders, enhance accountability to research integrity, facilitate the self-corrective process of science, expand transparency and sharing of all research content, and improve research rigor and reproducibility.
Government Data Surveys
- American Community Survey (ACS)The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
- Results from the Annual National Youth Tobacco SurveyIn October 2024, FDA and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released data from the 2024 National Youth Tobacco Survey (NYTS) on youth tobacco use in the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: “Tobacco Product Use Among Middle and High School Students — National Youth Tobacco Survey, United States, 2024.”
- CDC Smoking and Tobacco Use: NYTSNYTS datasets are available from 1999 onwards. Data are available in SAS®, Microsoft Access®, and Microsoft Excel® formats. Questionnaires, codebooks, and methodology reports are available in pdf formats.
- CDC Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) measures health-related behaviors and experiences that can lead to death and disability among youth and adults.
- Open FDA: Drug Shortages OverviewDrug Shortages can occur for many reasons, including manufacturing and quality problems, delays, and discontinuations. Manufacturers provide FDA most drug shortage information, and the agency works closely with them to prevent or reduce the impact of shortages. When a shortage is listed as current on the Drug Shortage Database, the FDA is aware of the supply situation and is working with the manufactures on efforts to mitigate the supply disruption. FDA also continue to work with manufacturers on shortage prevention efforts for drugs not yet listed on the Drug Shortage Database.
- Open FDA: DownloadsopenFDA is designed primarily for real-time queries. However, some applications may require all the data served by an endpoint, or exceed the query limits in place to promote equitable access and manage load on the system. Because openFDA is open source and its source code is available on GitHub, you can create your own instance of openFDA without these limits and run it on your own server. You can also download the data for any openFDA endpoint, in exactly the same JSON format that query results follow, and build your own custom application that uses these JSON files. Because the format is exactly the same as API query results, you can reuse existing code that you’ve written for applications that process openFDA data. There are two things you should know about these downloads.
Library Databases with Practice Data
- Sage Research Methods DatasetsSAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from real research projects, but edited and cleaned for teaching purposes. Each dataset is accompanied by a narrative description of the data and instructions on how to apply the research method. Datasets can be downloaded in a range of file formats and cited in various citation styles.
Practice Datasets
These datasets are in open repositories for public use, and usually they've been compiled from other public and government sources. You may find them useful for practicing your skills. Unlike some of the other links we've provided to publicly accessible raw data, because these have already been compiled or analyzed in some way, your professor or instructor may not allow use of these datasets in your course. While these may be useful as practice sets, they may not be appropriate for use in coursework. Before using these data for an assignment, please check with your faculty.
After describing the dataset below, we have provided the license associated with the dataset.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms.
Please note that this repo often links to datasets hosted on sites like Kaggle, which you may not be able to use for your assignments. These Kaggle datasets usually are cleaned up versions of data that was originally found on public, government websites.
- CDC Diabetes Health IndicatorsThe Diabetes Health Indicators Dataset contains healthcare statistics and lifestyle survey information about people in general along with their diagnosis of diabetes. The 35 features consist of some demographics, lab test results, and answers to survey questions for each patient. The target variable for classification is whether a patient has diabetes, is pre-diabetic, or healthy.
Dataset Characteristics: Tabular, Multivariate
Subject Area: Health and Medicine
Associated Tasks: Classification
Feature Type: Categorical, Integer
# Instances: 253680
# Features: 21
CC0: Public Domain. - Diagnostic Wisconsin Breast Cancer DatabaseDiagnostic Wisconsin Breast Cancer
Dataset Characteristics: Multivariate
Subject Area: Health and Medicine
Associated Tasks: Classification
Feature Type: Real
# Instances: 569
# Features: 30
CC BY 4.0 license.
Kaggle
Kaggle is a subsidiary of Google and is an online community of data scientists and people from related fields. Kaggle allows users to find and publish data sets, explore and build models in a web-based data-science environment, work with other data scientists and machine learning.
Many professors do not allow Kaggle datasets to be used in assignments. While these data might be useful for you in practicing your skills, please check with your faculty and your course syllabi before using any of these data.
Most Kaggle data has been pulled from other public, often government sources. If you find a dataset in Kaggle that you would like to use, check its provenance to backtrack to where the original raw data was sourced. Please keep in mind that because Kaggle projects have already been completed, many data analytics faculty do not allow projects which are too similar to things that have already been posted to Kaggle.
- Food Nutrition Dataset in KaggleThe Comprehensive Nutritional Food Database provides detailed nutritional information for a wide range of food items commonly consumed around the world. This dataset aims to support dietary planning, nutritional analysis, and educational purposes by providing extensive data on the macro and micronutrient content of foods.
CC0: Public Domain. - Mental Health Dataset in KaggleMental health includes our emotional, psychological, and social well-being. It affects how we think, feel, and act. It also helps determine how we handle stress, relate to others, and make healthy choices. 1. Mental health is important at every stage of life, from childhood and adolescence through adulthood. CC0: Public Domain
Miscellaneous
- Aviation Safety Network Accident DataFlight Safety Foundation members have access to several datasets from the Aviation Safety Network accident and incident database.