How to write a Research Proposal from Scribbr
-
Journal or Conference PaperThis is a guide from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
-
How to Write a Research ProposalHow to Write a Research Proposal | Examples & Templates
Humanities and Instruction Librarian
Carol Hargis
Contact:
University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-3563
Class Information
Dr. Anna Hinton
anna.hinton@unt.edu
General Databases
-
EBSCOhost.EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Nexis UniNexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
-
ScienceDirectScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
-
Taylor & Francis online journalsTaylor & Francis Journals is a package offering full-text access to over 200 journals and index access to over 1,600 titles spanning all areas of humanities, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.
-
ERIC via EBSCOhostERIC via EBSCOhost Resource Type: Research Database Title/Alternate Title:ERIC Subjects Covered:Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Contents: Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966. Help Links:Click the Helplink at the top right of the screen.
-
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)Users can search within a wide range of relevant eBooks using the powerful EBSCOhost search experience. Relevant eBook titles appear directly alongside databases and other digital content, exposing users to the full depth of the library's offerings. Dates of Coverage: multi-year
-
African American music referenceAfrican American Music Reference offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression and it is the only electronic access to this information. Resources include biographies, anthologies, encyclopedias, images, lyrics (digitized and fully searchable), songsheets, chronologies, critical textbooks, a complete discography of the top African American artists, and links to editorially selected Web resources. Rare and previously unpublished items are included. Dates of Coverage: 1900s - present
-
African American CommunitiesAfrican American Communities presents a historical glimpse into the everyday lives of African American communities in various cities through the United States.
-
Oxford African American Studies CenterThe Oxford African American Studies Center is a collection of articles, images, biographies, maps, and more that focuses on African American and African history and culture.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
ProQuest African American Heritage (Legacy Platform)African American Heritage combines resources, records, and tools to aid African American family history research.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American StudiesOxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on key areas of African American Studies including culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
-
Sex & SexualitySex & Sexuality explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender and sexual behaviours in America and beyond, from the late-nineteenth century to the present day through the use of archival materials.
The Spark Makerspace
-
Spark One Button StudioAn easy-to-use recording space for A/V projects, presentations, podcasting, practicing class presentations, etc.
WHICH STUDIO IS RIGHT FOR YOU?
BASS Bass has a LightBoard in the booth, and therefore is set up for both recording and live streaming. If you reserve BASS and you plan to use the LightBoard the markers are also available for checkout from the Spark Service Desk.
TENOR Tenor is a dual purpose space used as a Media viewing and transfer station and as a recording booth.
If you are using the location as a media viewing station, please follow the instruction given to myou from the Media Library for proper booking formats.
As a recording booth Tenor is set up to be a flex space intended for the user to bring thier own camera/microphone set up to meet thier needs. SYstem can be reserved from the Spark as well, it is best to plan ahead and request those to be bnooked for the same day/times as your studio reservation.
ALTO & SAPRANO The two smaller studios are best equipped for individual recording.
Noise Level: Modestly Quiet
This area is typically quiet.
Reserve a One Button Studio
Space Use Policy
RESERVING A STUDIO
Use the online scheduling tool to reserve a One Button Studio (Alto, Soprano, Tenor, Bass). You will need to login with your EUID and password.
Training is required prior to using the Recording Booths
Reservations requets must be submitted at least 24hr prior to use
Booths are available whenever Willis Library is open for 2 hours at a time.
Check out at the Spark with your UNT ID. A Spark employee will accompany you to the booth at check-out and check-in.
USING A STUDIO
Instructions for the One Button technology are in each booth.
Training is required in advance.
Recordings must be saved to a personal device.(devices should be at last 32 gig for most recordings)
Technology must be left in the same or better condition.
Lock the door and notify the Spark desk when you are done, or the studio will remain checked out and fines could incur.
If the room you reserved has one and you plan to use the LightBoard and would like to use the markers, they are also available for checkout from the Spark Service Desk. Bass has LightBoards at this time.
Tenor is a basic set up, to allow individual to bring in thier own recording device, or microphones and cameras can be booked through the Spark and the Music Library.
ACCOMMODATES
1-2 Presenters
Bass can accommodate up to 4
Tenor and Bass are wheelchair accessible spaces.
PRIVACY/NOISE
One button studios are located in public space, have windows, and there is no expectation of privacy, however studios are largely distraction-free.
Inside noise levels are significantly reduced from the outside environment, but please note that loud noises may still be heard.