Interlibrary Loan Service
If there is a book or article you are looking for but it is not owned by the UNT Libraries, you can make a request for it through our InterLibrary Loan service. For more information about InterLibrary Loan, see our service page on InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery.
Find Articles
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Google Scholar Search
Where to Start
There are several approaches to searching for scholarly literature via the UNT Libraries. Consider starting your search for scholarly articles in one of the databases below. If you do not find favorable results in the databases, try searching in the UNT Libraries' "Online Articles" search in the box underneath the suggested databases. "Online Articles" simultaneously searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' subscription databases. Your "Online Articles" search results will be interdisciplinary.
Or you may want to start by searching or browsing within individual emergency management journals. Click on the journal titles below, to access the journals via the UNT Libraries' subscription.
Journal Article Databases
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
- ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- Communication & mass media completeCommunication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.
- Environment completeThis resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
National Emergency Training Center Library
- National Emergency Training Center Library, Operated by the U.S. Fire AdministrationInformation resource for fire, emergency management, and other all-hazards subjects. Some full text available online.
For other titles, you may need to search the UNT Libraries collections for full text. Search "Online Articles" tab for articles and for books search "Cataloged Books and More" tab in the central blue box on library.unt.edu
Find Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Databases
Tips for Finding Articles
Log in with your EUID and password if you are off-campus.
Limit your search by the following:
- collection of newspapers, e.g. US newspapers
- date range
- geographic area, e.g., Japan, Oklahoma
- topic
- Access world newsAccess World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement. - Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
- PressReaderPressReader is a news community where people can read, share, and talk about news. PressReader partners with top magazine and newspaper publishers in over 100 countries to help them distribute their content globally. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
- Texas newspaper collectionTexas Newspaper Collection via Newsbank provides full text access to over 30 Texas-based newspapers. Cities covered include: Abilene, Amarillo, Angleton, Arlington, Austin, Baytown, Beaumont, Brazosport, Corpus Christi, Dallas, Denton, El Paso, Fort Worth, Galveston, Graham, Houston, Kerrville, Longview, Lubbock, Lufkin, Marshall, Midland, Nacogdoches, Plainview, San Angelo, San Antonio, Seguin, Texas City, Victoria, and Waco. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Individual Newspapers
To browse or search within a particular newspaper online, start by searching for the newspaper title in the UNT Libraries e-Journals search.
Step 1: Go to the UNT Libraries homepage at http://www.library.unt.edu/ and locate the central search box. Click on the "Databases & E-Resources" tab.
Step 2: Enter the name of the newspaper you want to explore into the search field, and then click the "Search" button.
Step 3: Browse through the search results and find the title that closely matches the newspaper you are looking for. Click on the option that provides full-text access for the dates you are interested in.
- The New York Times (website access)Usage requires account creation and is restricted to the University of North Texas Community.