Guides: Finding Datasets: Subscription-based Data Sources

Introduction

Certain types of data, such as business or financial data, are often proprietary information and not publicly accessible. However, some collections of proprietary data are available through the UNT Libraries. Additionally, UNT Libraries offer access to resources that use proprietary data in reports or analysis. Sometimes, the source data is described or cited. These reports or analyses may be useful for supporting your research or project, even if they do not offer access to the underlying data.

There is another type of subscription database that offers access to public and proprietary data. Some of these have built-in analytics and visualization tools to query aggregated datasets.

Below find lists of databases that offer datasets and those that provide reports and analysis that utilize data.

To access the full list of subscribed datasets in our library catalog, click here to access.

Databases Provided Though the UNT Libraries

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a longitudinal national data series and provides ranges of annual data from 1815 for all countries with many associated variables. General categories include demographic data, social, political and economic topics.
ICPSR
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPoll databank
iPoll Databank Contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Dates of Coverage: last 70+ years
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is primarily a data visualization tool. This resources hosts a number of public data sets that can be visualized using maps. The data sets can be queried and downloaded for use in other applications and tools.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1878 (with some data back to 1789)–2012
WRDS the path to business intelligence
WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services provides access to various business and financial data sets including Center for Research in Security Prices, Audit Analytics, Execucomp, and Standard and Poor's Compustat. Please note that UNT has access to only a select number of the data sets hosted on WRDS. To access WRDS, you will need to create an account using your UNT email address.

Other Resources

IBISWorld
IBISWorld is a collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories including industry market research, industry risk ratings, and company research for the U.S., global industry research, and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics. U.S. risk reports discuss industry and market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential, and economic sensitivity. Downloadable report elements include SWOT analyses, statistical tables, and graphs.

Finding Datasets

Introduction

Databases Provided Though the UNT Libraries

Other Resources

Additional Links