Selected Books
Stage Costume Sourcebook by Call Number: N7430.5 .A734 2008ISBN: 0304350680Willis Library, 3rd floor
Designing for the 21st Century by Call Number: NK1510 .D478 2010ISBN: 1409402401Willis Library, 3rd floor
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Databases
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Image Databases
If accessing these databases off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.
- Bloomsbury Fashion CentralBloomsbury Fashion Central provides access to collections of content designed to support research into fashion and dress. UNT subscribes to Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, and the Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive.
- ARTstorARTstor has over 1 million high resolution images of works from museums around the world, including art and architecture from Neolithic to Postmodern times. Collections include: European paintings, sculpture and decorative arts prints, graphic design, photography, drawings, Asian art, illuminated manuscripts, cave temple works, Egyptian art, Cuban art, Korean and Buddhist monastery and Islamic art and architecture, Medieval and Renaissance art, and prints from the Illustrated Bartsch. Also offers the ability to search for art works by geographic area and then by date. Faculty and students must create an ARTstor account to downloaded images. Use of Artstor images for commercial purposes or on the web in a non-password protected environment is prohibited. Dates of Coverage: 9,500 BCE to present
- Bloomsbury Fashion Photography ArchiveThe Fashion Photography Archive showcases 40 years of contemporary fashion history through runway shots, street-style images, biographies, articles and videos. More than 100 biographies are available, along with articles covering topics like fashion cities, catwalk shows, textiles, and more.
- Bloomsbury Design LibraryBloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
Historic Costume e-Books
Historic Costume E-Books
Use these highly illustrated e-books to find images of the costumes and clothing people were wearing in different historic periods.
To open the book, just click on the book cover or title and then the green "Find It" button.
*If you are accessing off campus, you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password before the book will open.
Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume by ISBN: 9780486136462ebook. Click to open. If you would like to make the images larger, download the pdf and zoom in and out, and or increase the resolution setting of your monitor.
Historic Costume in Pictures by ISBN: 9780486136400This volume 125 double-spread plates in chronological order and with English captions. Over 1,450 costumed figures are shown, from antiquity to the end of the nineteenth century, covering a wide variety of social classes, and professions: Egyptian and Assyrian kings, Byzantine emperors, Frankish and Norman nobles, priests, servants, soldiers of many lands and eras, crusaders, German knights, pages, Italian scholars, German townspeople, peasants, merchants, Dutch burghers, popes, nuns, bishops, monks, English Puritans and Cavaliers, English and French kings, Swiss citizens, French courtiers and republicans, and many more.
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Books
Historic Costume and Fashion: Books
For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the UNT Libraries Catalog. Choose the Keyword search.
Search the name of the designer or topic in the search box. Example: Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco AND dress, Medieval AND clothing; Medieval AND fashion; "Art Deco" AND fashion; accessories AND renaissance; shoes AND history.
Costume and Fashion Identification: Books
Historic Costume Identification Books
Most books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. Click on the title of the book to see the location and call number.
Survey of Historic Costume: a History of Western Dress
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)
The Guide to Historic Costume
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Encyclopaedia of Fashion
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
Evolution of Fashion
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson)
Fashions in Makeup (Corson)
A History of Men's Fashion
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book
20th Century Fashion
Contemporary Fashion
Historic Costume Identification: Microforms
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Microfilm
Visual Catalogue of Fashion and Costume in the Victoria and Albert Museum, 1556-1975. MicF 245
Includes prints, drawings, and plates of costume and fashion designs owned by the museum.
Pacquin-Worth Fashion Drawings, 1865-1956 MicF385
Provides 5,000 illustrations of Parisian fashion designs.
Fashion For America MicF633
Provides information on the U.S. fashion industry during the 20th century created from images in the collection of the Fashion Institute of Technology Library.
Swinging Sixties: Fashion Design in Britain, 1960-1969 MicF 384
Contains images of Sixties designers, haute couture, and manufacturing houses.
London College of Fashion Designer Files MicF 802
Contains 25 years of clippings of various designers' work from fashion magazines such as Vogue and Elle.
New York and Hollywood Fashion and Costume Design from the Brooklyn Museum Collection MicF 366
Provides an overview of fashion and costume design from 1910 through the late 1950s. Includes 657 sketches representing 55 designers. Examples of Hollywood designers included are Charles LeMaire, Edith Head, Walter Plunkett, and Irene.
Film & Theater Costuming Books
Film & Theater Costuming: Books
Most books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. Click on the title to see the location and call number.
*Also see the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Sources tab for great visual reference books.
Survey of Historic Costume
GT580. T67 1998
More Costumes for the Stage
GT1741. J323 1993
American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume
PN2067.03 1982
Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940 (DeMarly)
GT1741.D4 1982
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: A Bibliography and Iconography
Z5691 .J68 2000