The Comic Art Collection holds over 200,000 items. Most of these items are comic books, but also included are over 1,000 books of collected newspaper comic strips, and several thousand books and periodicals about comics. Although some archival material and a few dozen pieces of original comic book and comic strip art are held, the focus of the collection is on published work, in an effort to present a complete picture of what the audience has seen over the years of the twentieth century. The most important categories of material in the Comic Art Collection, based on current completeness and emphasis, are the U.S. comic books, the international comics collection, the newspaper strip books, and the historical and critical materials. Smaller sub-collections include animation-related material, Big Little Books, books illustrated by comic artists or written by comics professionals, propaganda comics, tie-ins to comic-related movies, the Eclipse Comics archive, and clipping and ephemera files.

• Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum (Ohio State University)

The world's largest collection of materials related to cartoons art, including original art, books, magazines, journals, comic books, archival materials, and newspaper comic strip pages and clippings. 

• Cartoon Art Museum (San Francisco)

  Founded in 1984, the Cartoon Art Museum has something for everyone, from comic strips, comic books and anime to political cartoons, graphic novels and underground comix. People of all ages can view original cartoon art at exhibitions and screenings, produce their own comics and animation at classes and workshops, research deeply into our collection and library, and mix and mingle with professional and aspiring cartoonists. This unique institution houses approximately 7,000 original pieces in our permanent collection and attracts more than 30,000 visitors annually.

• Comic Arts Collection (San Diego State University)
  The Comic Arts Collection at the SDSU Library is home to more than 100,000 comics, secondary research about comics and numerous archival collections. Sponsored by alumnus, Jack Sword, the circulating Comic Arts Collection includes both original comics and scholarship about the comic arts and is located in the Comics Corner on the first floor of Love Library.
   
• The Suzy Covey Comic Book Collection (University of Florida)

The Suzy Covey Comic Book Collection directly supports the Comic Studies Program offered by the Department of English at the University of Florida, but its holdings are open to all having an interest in the field. The collection is still growing, and is useful for those interested in the history and development of sequential art formats, particularly in the United States and includes original and reprint comic books, strips, caricatures and related items. The collection holds items from every recognized "Age" of comics as well as every genre, including daily humor strips and political satire as well as superhero, funny animal, and underground comics.

• The Eaton Collection (UC-Riverside)

The Eaton Collection is the largest publicly-accessible collection of science fiction and fantasy literature in the world, consisting of over 300,000 items. The collection begins with the 1517 edition of Thomas More's Utopia and includes first editions of many seminal works including Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (1818), Bram Stoker's Dracula (1897) and H.G. Wells' The Time Machine (1895). Eaton's outstanding comic book collection of more than 75,000 individual issues has been built entirely through donations from fans. Among the more significant contributions are the collections of Michael Brennan, Stephen Byrne, Michael Callahan, Adam Crities (UCR alumnus, 1995), Dr. Byran Kaul (UCR alumnus, 1975), anime scholar Fred Patten, and comic book writer Marv Wolfman.

• The Frank R. Paul Gallery

​An online archive of artwork by science fiction and fantasy artist Frank R. Paul.

• Comic-Covers.com

An online gallery of comic covers from various publishers.