Google Scholar Search
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Article Databases in Consumer Theory
- ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
- EBSCOhost.EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
- Hospitality & tourism indexHospitality and Tourism Index Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism,and Purdue's former Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index. Together, this collection will eventually contain more than 470,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
- Gale In Context: Opposing ViewpointsOpposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes pro/con essays topic overviews primary source documents biographies of social activists and reformers court-case overviews periodical articles statistical tables, charts and graphs images podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs and a national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline. Dates of Coverage: Current
- SpringerLINKSpringerLink is a vast database of scholarly journals and books covering broad disciplines that include biomedical sciences, business and management, chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, economics, education and language, energy, engineering, environmental sciences, food and nutrition, law, life sciences, materials, mathematics, medicine, physics, psychology, public health, social sciences, and statistics. Full-text access to over 3.5 million resources including articles, books, book chapters, journals and reference work entries is provided however, some content is not available through the UNT subscription. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication.
Accessing Databases
For remote access your EUID and password are necessary to gain access to the UNT Libraries' electronic resources
Lists all electronic databases for UNT Libraries
Find Articles - Search All Databases and More
Find Articles is a software known as a "discovery tool." It allows you to simultaneously search 92% of the UNT Libraries' electronic resources. This means that with one search you can look for ebooks and for articles in many databases.
Find Articles also links you to the full text of the ebooks and articles available at UNT, making it a quick way to get a handful of ebooks and articles on a topic. It's great for short papers and a good starting point for more involved papers and projects.
You can go here for more detailed instructions on how to use Find Articles.