Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry

Subject guide to help users find information for chemistry

Scifinder-n: The New Version of Scifinder

Scifinder-n is the top database in chemistry for finding literature and substances. It includes the content from Scifinder Scholar - literature, substances, reactions, and suppliers - and new sections - MethodsNow Synthesis, Retrosynthesis Planner, and PatentPak. Give it a try to see how much chemical information you can locate in one place. Both Scifinder-n and Scifinder Scholar will be available through December 31, 2020; after that, Scfinder Scholar will be discontinued.

Already have a Scifinder Scholar account? Then you're ready to log into your Scifinder-n account. Simply follow the instructions in the box below.

Never used a Scifinder database? Then you'll need to register for an account first. Please follow the instructions in the box below.

Use Your Scifinder Scholar Authentication to Enter Scifinder-n

If you have a Scifinder Scholar account, then Scfinder-n already has an account waiting for you. Follow these steps to login:

  1. Go to the library's homepage at library.unt.edu
  2. Select the Databases search tab and search for [scifinder-n]
  3. Click on the link, Connect to Scifinder-n. Note: if you are off-campus, you'll be asked to enter your EUID and password at this point.
  4. Enter your username and password from your old Scifinder Scholar account. 
  5. Begin your search!

Register for a Scifinder-n Account

You must register for a Scifinder-n account before using the database for the first time. Follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=3574ABFD-86F3-50AB-5853-7F37D9CB1A36
  2. Complete the registration form using your email address for a UNT student (marysmith@my.unt.edu) or employee (mary.smith@unt.edu)
  3. Respond to the validation email you will receive from Scifinder-n and start using your account.
  4. To enter Scifinder-n in the future, go to the Start Your Research section of the library homepage. Click on the Databases tab, type in and select Scifinder-n, and then log into Scifinder-n with your username and password. Note: If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter your EUID and password before logging into Scifinder-n.

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Erin O'Toole, Science Reference Librarian, at erin.otoole@unt.edu whenever you have questions about Scifinder-n.

Q: Why can’t I access Scifinder-n when I’m off-campus, even when I navigate through the library’s website?

A: The settings for the library’s proxy server were not set up properly. As of Feb. 25, 2020, they have been corrected, and you should be able to remotely access Scifinder-n. If you still can’t get in, please contact me at erin.otoole@unt.edu, so we can work through the problem.

 

Q: I can’t get remote access to Scifinder Scholar or Scifinder-n while using the VPN browser or AnyConnect – why? 

A: In the past, the library’s helpdesk had encouraged users to try the VPN browser as a workaround for remote access to the library’s electronic resources when the proxy server was not working. Over the past two years, the helpdesk has changed that approach and is encouraging all users to navigate through the library’s homepage to access an electronic resource, and then authenticate through the proxy server, because the VPN environment does not work with all of our resources. This is especially true of the Scifinder products because they require two levels of authentication. Our helpdesk also tells me that the Scifinder products will definitely not work in the VPN AnyConnect environment. Any time the library’s proxy server is not working to give you remote access, please contact me at erin.otoole@unt.edu.

 

Q: Does Scifinder-n link from the records for references, structures, and reactions to any important protein or crystal structure databases?

A: No, Scifinder-n does not link out to other sequence or structure databases at this time, but I would be happy to pass on any database suggestions you have to the Scifinder representative.

 

Q: Does Scifinder-n have a structure similarity search like Scfinder Scholar did?

A: Yes, Scifinder-n has the same search. Do a Substance search using a structure. In the search results, look at the top left for the Structure Match section. Select the Similarity results to see the structures and Similarity scores. Visit Scifinder-n Help: Filter by Structure Match for details.

 

Q: Can I migrate my saved files from Sciplanner in Scifinder Scholar over to my account in Scifinder-n?

A; No, because Sciplanner does not exist in Scifinder-n, nor will the feature be added in the future. The only items that can be migrated are: saved reference answer sets, saved substance answer sets, and KMP alerts. You can download your Sciplanner files to your own computer by selecting the Workspace tab in Sciplanner, and then Export. You’ll want to export the files before Scifinder Scholar is discontinued at UNT at the end of August 2020.

 

Q: How do we know which journals are indexed in Scifinder-n?

A: CASSI (CAS Source Index) is the online record of all journals, conference proceedings, and technical publications indexed in Scifinder-n. If you’re wondering if a journal is included in Scifinder-n, enter some words from the title or the title’s abbreviation and you’ll see the possible matching entries. The entry should also tell you the years of the journal included in Scifinder-n.

 

Q: Is Scifinder-n going to have a mobile interface?

A: No, there are no plans to develop a mobile interface; however, you should have full functionality using the website on your phone.

Ask Us!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.

Ask Us!

Additional Links

top