Guides: ANTH 4550: Race, Ethnicity, and Identity: Primary Source Materials

Databases for primary source documents

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. It provides personal accounts and unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, exploreres, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. This collection brings together published and unpublished accounts including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Additionally more than 1,200 quality color images, including works by George Catlin and John James Audobon are provided.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
This digitized collection of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documents chronicles the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest. There is additional documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism. Documents are full-text searchable and can be downloaded as a PDF.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America offers a comprehensive view into the interactions between Indigenous Peoples and Europeans. It spans from their initial contact to the civil rights movement, featuring material from the renowned Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.
African American Communities
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Race Relations in America
Race Relations in American provides records of speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department from 1943-1970. This information documents the civil rights fight with concentrations on desegregation, migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers, the role of the Church in the Civil Rights Movement, race riots and tensions, and the activists of the Civil Rights movement.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, is a collection of primary source documents from a wide range of archival repositories. Covering 1901 to 1991, the focus is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th Century. This database contains collections of primary source documents from the records of federal government agencies, the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Also search several collections of NAACP papers within the same search interface.

Civil Rights Digital Library: Documenting America's Struggle for Racial Equality
Oral histories of the American South: The civil rights movement

The Latino-Hispanic American Experience: The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1
The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project , the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. The database contains: approximately 60,000 historical articles 100s of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
The Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers: The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 2
The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project , the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. The database contains: 100s of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, including over 75,000 pages of content over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicols Kanellos, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage:1808 - 1980

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Contact:Lisa Brown ( Lisa.Brown@unt.edu)

Other Notes: With the digital publication of Hispanic American Newspapers, these important primary documents can now be easily browsed, searched and read. Users can easily compare and contrast Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life with those appearing in other America's Historical Newspapers series, including Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922.

The Portal to Texas History
This gateway to Texas history materials contains unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical and genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal features digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, and more.
Bracero Oral History Project - University of Texas El Paso
The Bracero History Archive is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso. Funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides access to personal narratives, letters, diairies, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories from immigrants to America and Canada. Contents begin around 1840 and extend to the present with a heavy focus from 1920 to 1980.

University Libraries

ANTH 4550: Race, Ethnicity, and Identity: Primary Source Materials

What are primary source materials?

Databases for primary source documents

ANTH 4550: Race, Ethnicity, and Identity: Primary Source Materials

What are primary source materials?

Databases for primary source documents

Additional Links