Skip to main content

Slavery in the New World Materials in UNT Special Collections: Home

About this Guide

This guide serves as a finding tool for materials owned by UNT Special Collections that cover the topic of slavery in the new world. Materials within this guide include publications, travelogues, and other original materials that can be requested for on-site viewing. For more information on how to submit requests to view materials, please see the Requesting Special Collections Materials section on this page. 

Titles within this guide are linked to the UNT Library catalog. 

Requesting Special Collections Materials from Finding Aids and the Catalog

To search our archival collections, please use our finding aids. Within the finding aids, you can request reproductions by selecting the “Request Duplication Services” button () or order materials for delivery to and use in our Reading Room by selecting the “Request Reading Room Access” button ().

To search for books and artwork, please search in the UNT Libraries online catalog. You can order materials for delivery to and use in our Reading Room by selecting the “Request for onsite use” button,  ().

If this is your first time using UNT Special Collections’ materials you will be prompted to create an Aeon account.

Aeon is the software UNT Special Collections uses for statistical purposes and account creation takes only a few minutes. Creating an account with Aeon will allow you to track the progress of your request.

Visiting UNT Special Collections

Special Collections are open to the public for use in the Judge Sarah T. Hughes Reading Room, located on the 4th floor of Willis Library, during normal operating hour. 


Hours of Operation: 

Monday: 9am-5pm
Tuesday: 9am-5pm
Wednesday: 9am-5pm
Thursday: 9am-5pm
Friday: 9am-5pm
Saturday/Sunday: Closed

Additional Links

top