Interlibrary Loan Service
If there is a book or article you are looking for but it is not owned by the UNT Libraries, you can make a request for it through our InterLibrary Loan service. For more information about InterLibrary Loan, see our service page on InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery.
Google Scholar Search
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Where to Start
There are several approaches to searching for scholarly literature via the UNT Libraries. Consider starting your search for scholarly articles in one of the databases below. If you do not find favorable results in the databases, try searching in the UNT Libraries' "Online Articles" search in the box underneath the suggested databases. "Online Articles" simultaneously searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' subscription databases. Your "Online Articles" search results will be interdisciplinary.
Or you may want to start by searching or browsing within individual emergency management journals. Click on the journal titles below, to access the journals via the UNT Libraries' subscription.
Top Databases for Disasters and Special Populations
Tips for Finding Articles
Log in with your EUID and password if you are off-campus.
Helpful keyword searches are [disasters], [disaster relief] or [disaster vulnerability] plus the special population. For example, [disasters and older people], [disaster relief and children], and [disaster vulnerability and women].
Most articles are full text as PDF or HTML files within a database. If not, follow the Find Full Text links to locate the full text in another database or in print.
All of the databases below can be searched simultaneously using the EBSCOhost interface. Use the search box at the right.
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- Environment completeThis resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
- Family & society studies worldwideFamily & Society Studies Worldwide- coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare Dates of Coverage: 1970 to present,
- PsycInfoPsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current
- SocINDEX with full textSocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO is a sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records. The database contains full text for 860+ journals, 830+ books, and 16,800+ conference papers abstracts for 1,300+ core journals, 450+ priority journals, and 2,900+ selective coverage journals extensive indexing for books, conference papers and non-periodical content and 25,000+ author profiles. Topics covered include: abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, social development and psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history and research, sociological theory, substance abuse and addictions, violence, and many others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource some citations date back to 1895.