Chemistry Databases
SciFinder-n is the top database for chemical journal articles, but there are other useful databases for chemistry research.
-
American Chemical Society JournalsThis is a package of 34 high-quality scholarly journals published by the ACS.
-
Engineering SourceA database of engineering journal articles that includes a significant amount of chemistry content. Can be searched at the same time as Science and Technology Collection in the EBSCOhost interface.
-
Science & technology collectionThis database covers all areas of science, with an emphasis on application and technology. Many full text articles are available.
-
Web of scienceA multidisciplinary database giving access to the top peer-reviewed journals in each field. Link out to full text articles by clicking on the green Find Full Text button on the results screen. Web of Science is also a citation index that can be used to analyze author and article citations.
What is Peer Review?
Many instructors require you to use peer-reviewed sources for your papers and projects, but what does that mean?
- Peer review is the process of having experts in a field review the quality of an article or book before it is published
- Most articles in scholarly and academic journals are peer-reviewed
- Books published by university or academic presses are peer-reviewed
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Here are two examples:
-
Academic search completeCheck the "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit Your Results"
-
Research librarySelect "peer-reviewed" beneath the search box.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
