Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maps of Texas at the UNT Libraries and on the Internet
Border Colonia Geography Online
Extensive Colonia Geographic Database for the border region. The database stores accurate geographic and descriptive data on over 1,800 colonias areas in 29 border area counties.
Digital Atlas of Texas Counties
Access and download interactive county maps. The atlas is based upon data available in the public domain—mostly TIGER-based data from the U.S. Census Bureau and elevation data from the U.S. Geological Survey.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970
Includes most of the fire insurance maps of Texas produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to around 1950. Includes structural information about individual buildings, as well as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
General Land Office Map Collection
Includes more than 10,000 maps of Texas - some dating back to the 1820s.
The Geographical Texas Air Quality Monitoring viewer can access information about air quality monitors, view and print maps of areas of interest, and obtain details about selected air monitors and their surrounding area.
Hydrography Maps and Data
Links to the Atlas of Texas Surface Waters, data for Level 4 ecoregions, GIS data for classified segments, and other hydrology data layers for use in ArcGIS. Statewide hydrography maps and map-based viewers for surface water information.
Strategic Mapping Program (StratMap)
Program established to create and maintain a common base map for the state of Texas, combine funding from state and federal sources to lower costs and avoid duplication, improve the quality and accuracy of data, and to develop data using national and international standards to ensure compatibility.
Texas County Highway Maps
This publication of the Texas Department of Transportation contains a general highway map for each county in Texas, as well as detailed sectional maps that are useful for identifying street names in almost every city in Texas.
Texas Department of Transportation Maps
Whether you travel in Texas for work or pleasure, these maps will help you to locate information on road conditions, permit restrictions and wildflower sightings, for example.
The Perry-Castañeda Map Collection at UT - Austin provides links to numerous thematic, historical, environmental, and geological maps of the state, as well as maps of Texas counties, cities, and parks.
Texas Natural Resources Information System (TNRIS) Maps and Data
TNRIS, a division of the Texas Water Development Board, is the state's clearinghouse for natural resources data. TNRIS serves as a distribution center for U.S. Geological Survey maps and has numerous other map collections available for in-house use or reproduction, including an impressive collection of historical aerial imagery. Digital data available through TNRIS pertain to natural resources, Census, and other spatial data.
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department GIS Lab Map Downloads
A plethora of maps and spatial information, including maps of counties, river basins, vegetation types, rainfall, natural regions, ecoregions, time zones, and more.
Texas Redistricting Plan Maps and Reports
The Texas Legislative Council provides online and hard copy maps and reports of redistricting plans and current districts
of the Texas Senate, Texas House of Representatives, Texas delegation to the U.S. Congress, and State Board of Education. Maps of county election precincts, voting tabulation districts, and other geography associated with redistricting are also available.
Texas Water Development Board Maps
TWDB's most commonly requested maps are available for download, in both Adobe PDF and JPG formats. All TWDB's maps and GIS data
are available to the public for the cost of reproduction
The Vegetation Types of Texas
Categorizes and maps existing vegetation (habitat) types statewide using organized ground-truthing procedures and recent technology involving Landsat (earth satellite) data and computer classification analyses.
Vegetation/Cover Types of Texas 2000
This vegetation/cover-type map of Texas is a result of efforts by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department to delineate and categorize existing vegetation and landcover types statewide using Landsat data (1972 to 1980), computer classification analysis, and systematic accuracy verification procedures. It represents information summarized from a mosaic of larger scale vegetation maps published by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Map units are derived from the 1984 map The Vegetation Types of Texas
published by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Map shows 53 vegetation cover types.
Water Integration and Dissemination (WIID) System
Maps of wells in groundwater and brackish ground water, wells in submitted driller's reports, and a surface water data and mapping tool. WIID is a four-year program utilizing internet-based mapping technology to significantly improve internal and external access to water-related data.