Recommended Databases for Chemistry Research
In addition to Scifinder-n, there are four additional databases useful for chemistry research. Scopus and Web of Science resemble Scifinder-n because they also are indexes of articles from many journals that contain few full text articles, but they link you to the electronic journals if the library subscribes to them. ACS Web Editions and ScienceDirect are packages of journals by one publisher so they don't include as many journals as the other two. Make sure to use both types of databases to do a thorough search.
-
American Chemical Society Journals34 chemistry journals published by the American Chemical Society and covering all aspects of chemistry, including engineering, medicinal, inorganic, organic and more.
-
ScienceDirectA package of over 2500 electronic journals from Elsevier, with an emphasis on the sciences. Contains hundreds of journals about chemistry, chemical engineering, and materials science.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary database containing articles from over 24,000 journals and 100s of book series. Follow the Find Full Text button to see if UNT has the full text.
-
Web of scienceA multidisciplinary database of articles from the top journals in each field. Find the full text by following the Links buttons.
Boolean Searching Video
-
Boolean OperatorsHow to do Boolean searching in databases using the operators AND, OR, and NOT.
Scopus Video Tutorials
-
Scopus Tutorial VideosFind tutorials on how to conduct basic search, how to analyze search results, and more.
Web of Science Video Tutorials
-
Web of Science Tutorial VideosFind tutorial for conducting a basic search, analyzing results, and more in-depth training modules.
Web of Science Activity
-
Web of Science ActivityDownloadable worksheet for NSF-REU participants to practice document and citation searches.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
