Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INFO End of Program Examination Class Page: Recommended Databases

Accessing Databases Off-Campus

To access the library databases from off-campus, please login through the UNT Virtual Private Network (VPN). 

eBook Databases

Open Access Databases & Free Resources

Tips When Searching for Articles

Begin by going to the Databases tab on the library home page and choosing a database in the alphabetical list. I've listed some recommended databases here.

If you find that the article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Not everything is available electronically.  With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.

Recommended Library & Information Science Databases

Suggested LIS Journals

UNT's Libraries provide access to thousands of journals.  Below are only a small number of the journal titles offered relating to Library and Information Sciences.

Search for Materials

 

LIS/Outreach Librarian

Profile Photo
Greg Hardin
Contact:
University of North Texas
Willis Library 155
Library Learning Services Department
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, Texas 76203-5017
Greg.Hardin@unt.edu
940.565.3980
Website Skype Contact: greg.hardin

What is Peer Review?

A fast way of determining if the article you are viewing is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb

Refereed option in Ulrichsweb filter
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.

Searching Databases

Boolean logic is used to search most databases.  By using connecting terms like AND, NOT, and OR searches can be broadened or narrowed. 

Below is a brief tutorial, (0:27) explaining how Boolean logic works.  

Boolean Logic

This last video is a lighter take on Boolean logic, (6:54).  Along with a good laugh, the video provides expert information on how to properly conduct a search using a database or search engine.

Search smarter, search faster

Additional Links

top