Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jazz Research: Streaming Audio and Video Databases

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. It is produced by the Naxos company, which was originally a bargain classical music record label that later achieved great success with its forward-looking classical streaming audio service Naxos Music Library

Jazz music library

From Alexander Street Press. Providing online listening to thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, it is significant for jazz history, performance, theory, or music appreciation course. Labels include Verve, GRP Records, Fantasy, Concord Jazz, Impulse, Jazzology, and many others. The list of artists is enormous, ranging from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Also included are Marian McPartland's Peabody Award-winning Piano Jazz Radio Broadcasts and never-before-released performances from the Monterey Jazz Festival and great jazz venues. Listen to Chicago jazz, New Orleans Jazz, 1920s jazz, big bands, acid jazz, Latin jazz, and more.

Popular Music Library 

From Alexander Street Press. Provides a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music. From the site's interface you can search all of the content from Alexander Street Press, which includes world music of possible relevance for jazz research.

American Music

Formerly more accurately called American Song, from Alexander Street Press. A vast collection of American songs including African-American music, blues, rhythm and blues, and many more genres. 

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 

From Alexander Street Press. An online streaming music database of the world's musical and aural traditions. The database includes 2,900+ albums, comprising over 42,000 tracks. It includes the published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of numerous influential labels and recording pioneers. There is much jazz material.

PLEASE VISIT THE GUIDE CALLED "MUSIC STREAMING AUDIO AND VIDEO DATABASES" FOR A LIST OF ALL SUCH DATABASES THAT WE HAVE:

https://guides.library.unt.edu/c.php?g=1019199

Additional Links

top