University of North Texas Jazz Studies Division page
Louis Armstrong Archives at Queens College
Berklee College of Music in Boston
Stan Getz Media Center and Library at Berklee College of Music
The Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University
William Ransom Hogan Archive of New Orleans Jazz at Tulane University
Chicago Jazz Archive from the University of Chicago's Joseph Regenstein Library
Jazz Research Guide from the University of Oregon Libraries
Jazz-Institut Darmstadt, "Europe's largest public research archive on jazz"
The Center for Jazz Studies at Columbia University
National Ragtime and Jazz Archive at Southern Illinois University,
The Gerry Mulligan Collection at Library of Congress
from Indiana University's Archives of African American Music and Culture
The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz
Jazz Journalists Association
click the Last Post hotlink for a database of jazz people who recently passed away, with an obituary for each
Center for Jazz Arts
in Los Angeles, "dedicated to the advancement of American jazz culture."
Jazz on the Screen: A Jazz and Blues Filmography
by David Meeker, Library of Congress. "This searchable filmography documents the work of some 1,000 major jazz and blues figures in over 14,000 cinema, television and video productions."
site from a jazz club in Switzerland with oral history about Swiss jazz artists
Contemporary List of JAZZ Links
by Piotr Marek, Polish jazz enthusiast; valuable for its size even though not revised any more
major jazz news, reviews, and important links
a portal intended to preserve and promote jazz, with a feature called
"This Day in Jazz History"
DESUK: The Duke Ellington Society UK "The Duke Ellington Society of the United Kingdom's purpose is to further the study, appreciation and dissemination of the music of Edward Kennedy 'Duke' Ellington and his writing and arranging companion Billy Strayhorn."
Ellington on the Web, a vast collection of Ellington links
A French site dedicated to the music and person of Duke Ellington.
This is the site of the Duke Ellington Society of Sweden.
Count Basie Archive at Rutgers
The official site for the Louis Armstrong House and Archives
The Real Mingus Web
Charles Mingus Home Page (unofficial) from Finnish musician and
scholar Esa Onttonen
The Official Miles Davis Web Site
The Official Thelonius Monk Website
Stan Kenton Collection at the University of North Texas
Jazz at Lincoln Center
promoting the concert series and much more
A page promoting the Ken Burns film
John Roache's Ragtime MIDI Library, featuring ragtime, stride,
and novelty piano
Jazz Standards, Jazz History, Musicology, Biographies and Books
"Preserving jazz history by documenting the origins of the standards," lists 1,000 standards and provides detailed information on the top 100
Noal Cohen's Jazz History Web Site
with discographies of selected jazz artists, links, and more
Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz
from the Library of Congress
The Online Discographical Project
A growing discography of 78s organized by recording label.
A jazz blog from Italy with many excellent links to video and sound clips and current news about jazz musicians and performances.
This blog offers profiles of leading jazz artists, including information about book and recording releases that relate to the different artists.