Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French: Articles

resources for research in French

Articles - French


DATABASES FOR FINDING ARTICLES

The UNT Libraries subscribe to a number of databases that index journals and other scholarly sources about the French language and French literature, and they link to many full-text articles. These databases do not exclusively cover French; rather, they encompass a wide variety of topics in the humanities. Any UNT person can access them remotely by providing their EUID and password. 


VERY IMPORTANT:
MLA International Bibliography

A database produced by the Modern Language Association of America which provides bibliographic citations and much full text for a vast number of journal articles and other sources in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Many languages are represented, including French, with coverage from 1926 to the present. 

Academic Search Complete

A scholarly database providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Full text for thousands of publications, with coverage dating back to 1975. 

JStor
A full-text database of journal articles from a large number of disciplines; provides backfiles of whole runs of many important journals in numerous fields. 
CAUTION: JStor is very popular. However, since its specialty is backfiles, it may not provide current issues of the journals you need. Thus, do NOT limit yourself solely to it when searching for articles.

EbscoHost MultiLingual

A search engine from electronic journal provider EBSCOhost that enables translation of the homepages of certain EBSCO databases into a number of world languages, including French.  The MLA International Bibliography is one of the databases. The default language is Spanish, but users can select other languages from the Idiomas pull-down. 

Project Muse

A database providing full-text access to scholarly journal articles and to other scholarly resources in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch cites articles from over 12,500 journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science, humanities, and popular culture.
(NOT a full-text database) 

Reference Librarian

 
Profile Image
Donna Arnold
Subjects:

French, German, Music, Spanish
Contact Info
940.565-2860
Send Email

Additional Links

top