It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.
This Handbook goes beyond the mechanics of how to create and direct an online learning experience to consider such a new approach to pedagogy in doing so. The editors primary purpose is to clarify the conceptual issues that underlie effective online teaching and to offer practical guidance to educators and corporate trainers who plan to teach in a virtual environment.
The authors pursue an understanding of how the forces of change, and emerging waves of interest associated with these forces, inspire and invite us to imagine a future of learning that is as powerful as it is optimistic.
InTech is the publisher of one of the largest multidisciplinary open access collection of books covering the fields of science, technology, and medicine, with a heavy emphasis on physical sciences, engineering and technology among other subjects. Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with over 87,000 authors and published over 2,400 books and 6 journals with the aim of providing free online access to research.
Includes online, open access instructional materials (books and articles) to support educators.
Suggest a Book
Are we missing your favorite Learning Technologies book? Email me with your book suggestion and why you think it would be a good addition to the collection: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Searching for Books
Books on Information Technologies are arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system. Each book is assigned a call number, and the beginning letters correspond to a specific subject. For example, books about computer software will have “QA 76.75” at the beginning of their call numbers. The following list comprises the subject headings that will be most relevant to you:
Please note that teaching with technology is located within the "Teaching" subject. Of particular interest might be call numbers that begin "LB1028."
Search for Materials
To find materials that may assist your research that are not owned by the University of North Texas Libraries, use the OCLC WorldCat database. Materials identified here can be ordered via InterlibraryLoan.
InterlibraryLoan Services are offered to the students, faculty and staff of UNT for research purposes. All of the Libraries' InterlibraryLoan requests are processed through ILLiad, an integrated web-based ILL software program. To use InterlibraryLoan Services you will need to create an ILLiad account.
If you are enrolled in a distance learning class, you may submit requests for items owned by the UNT Libraries through your ILLiad account. Books owned by the UNT Libraries may be mailed to your home or delivered to the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account. *Note: When you register for an ILLiad account, choose status "Dist Learning". This will insure that you have access to special Distance Learning request forms.
Distance Learning students may also request items not owned by the UNT Libraries. Interlibrary Loan books or microfilm cannot be mailed to you but must be picked up at the Circulation Desk, Willis Library, the Discovery Park, or at the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically.
17 seminal works on educational technology are gathered together to form this valuable collection. These previously published, difficult to locate, articles have contributed to the conceptual underpinnings of the field and are widely used in educational technology courses.
Offers useful methods for creating digital imagery as well as leading pedagogical theories and research on the implementation of inherited images. Features applied, hands-on strategies related to capturing and authoring tools used to acquire and create graphics.
A practical map to navigate some of today's most complicated instructional challenges. Drawing on research and years of experience in international schools, the authors identify five critical keys to personalizing learning for students who have wildly different cultural, linguistic, and academic backgrounds.
Reviews the basics of instructional design and then lifts the lid on some common misconceptions about ISD. Focuses on how to think differently about ISD and shows where and how it needs to be modified to make applicable to the unique world of e-learning.
The first available book that specifically focuses on “i Learning”. Includes descriptive case studies that describe how the “i-Learning” framework has been instanced and implemented. Presents social and cultural aspects of society that influence the “dynamics” and the “styles” of the learning processes.
Offers insight into evolving methodologies and tools impacting education in the 21st century. Investigations of topics such as Web-based forums, multimedia tools and mobile e-learning benefit students, educators, and researchers who develop and use new pedagogical technologies and techniques.
Investigates how traditional learning institutions can become as innovative, flexible, robust, and collaborative as the best social networking sites. Proposes an alternative definition of "institution" as a "mobilizing network"--emphasizing its flexibility, the permeability of its boundaries, its interactive productivity, and its potential as a catalyst for change--and explores the implications for higher education.
Bridges the gap between digital media and education by presenting an intriguing look on the future of education. Combining theory, research, and practice, this book paints a broad picture of ubiquitous learning by focusing on the integration of instructional design, models of course design, and the application of mobile and social media technology to create, support, and deliver a ubiquitous learning environment.
Educational Media Reviews Online database Contains more than 2000 reviews of educational videos, DVDs and CD-ROMs, written by librarians and teaching faculty from the United States and Canada. The University at Buffalo-SUNY sponsors the database, which focuses on adult media, but also contains reviews for grades K-12 media.
Ebooks on Ebscohost Users can search within a wide range of relevant eBooks using the powerful EBSCOhost search experience. Relevant eBook titles appear directly alongside databases and other digital content, exposing users to the full depth of the library's offerings. Dates of Coverage: multi-year
Other Notes: In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe Reader installed to view the PDF Full Text files. We recommend Adobe Acrobat Reader version 8.2 or later. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe Flash Player 8.0 or higher. In order to download and read eBooks offline, Adobe Digital Editions (v 1.7.1 or higher) must be installed on your computer.