Guides: College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences/Humanities Division/Student Information: Databases

Databases for CLASS Faculty

Research Databases for Journal Articles, Video, Audio, and More!

The UNT Libraries subscribe to over 300 research databases that contain mostly journal articles, but also video, images, audio, book chapters, and book reviews. Here are just a few databases that may be of interest to CAS. Click on the database link to open.

These databases and hundreds more can be found from the UNT Libraries homepage: http://www.library.unt.edu, under the tab “databases”.
*If accessing off-campus, you will asked for an EUID and EUID password.

English

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Bibliothèque nationale de France
The Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF; French: [bi.bli.jɔ.tɛk na.sjɔ.nal də fʁɑ̃s]) is the National Library of France, located in Paris. It is the national repository of all that is published in France.
Le Figaro
From Paris, France. Newspapers and electronic media.
Radio France
This radio station is exclusively intended for general news in all domains in France and Worldwide.
To know the main headlines around the world, major events and real time evolution, listen this radio station.

MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current

BDSL Online (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft)
This free resource includes coverage only from 1985 to 1995. The major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch. The catalog entry for the print version: Vols. for 1945 to 1968 and Vols. for 1985-2002
Redalyc: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal
Full text articles from over 800 journals from Spanish and Portuguese-speaking countries. Over half are social science journals and a quarter are scientific journals, but some are humanities and interdisciplinary.
Dialnet
Difusión de Alertas en la Red -- free database courtesy of the Universidad de La Rioja; full text articles from recent issues of over 2700 Spanish language journals, with indexing for another 5700.
3.11 Documentary Film Archives 3.11
ドキュメンタリーフィルムアーカイブ List of the documentary films on the Great East Japan Earthquake on March 11, 2011.
Academic Research Database Repository
Searches multiple databases of various subjects.
Ainugo Corpus アイヌ語口承文芸コーパス
Audio corpus of Ainu Lanuage Folkfore created by the Japanese Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics. This may take a few minutes to access.
Aozora Bunko/青空文庫
Full-texts of Japanese literature.

Japanese databases: C

CiNii Books (Japanese version / English version) Japanese & some European university Libraries union catalog
CiNii Articles 論文情報ナビゲータ (Japanese version / English version) Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要）are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats. See also the Getting the Most of CiNii Articles Database

History

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.

UNT Library Catalog
Perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "Books -- Reviews -- Periodicals." This will lead you to 75 periodicals, including several online databases, dedicated to book reviews. Also, perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "History -- Periodicals." This lists 213 journals and other periodicals dedicated to the study of history.

Philosophy & Religion

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, more than 511,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 130 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1949 to present, although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century.
Religion and philosophy collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection a comprehensive full-text database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - current
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current

College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences/Humanities Division/Student Information

Databases for CLASS Faculty

English

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

History

Philosophy & Religion

Additional Links