Guides: ENGL 1325: Writing About Literature II: Writing Resources

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Sample Essay for Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting from Purdue OWL
This handout compares and contrasts the three terms, gives some pointers, and includes a short excerpt that you can use to practice these skills.

Summarizing

Paraphrasing

Quoting

Must reference the original source
The text is much shorter than the original text. (For example, one may write a single page to summarize a four-page article.)
Must use your own words, usually with a very limited use of quotations.

Must reference the original source
The text produced may be shorter or longer than the original text

Must use your own words

Must reference the original source
The text produced is the exact length of the original text quoted (unless ellipses are used)

Use the original author’s exact words
Put quotation marks around the original author’s exact words
Include the page number of the original source from which you borrowed the author’s original language.

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

MLA Guide from Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the Works Cited page, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
MLA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
APA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OWL
This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
Chicago Manual of Style, Author Date Sample Paper
Author Date Sample Paper

more...
Chicago Manual of Style, Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper
Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue OWL

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

Research Paper

Genre and the Research Paper by Purdue OWL

How to write research papers including discussing research papers as a genre, choosing topics, and finding sources.

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

Common Writing Assignments

These OWL resources will help you understand and complete specific types of writing assignments, such as annotated bibliographies, book reports, and research papers. This section also includes resources on writing academic proposals for conference presentations, journal articles, and books.

University Libraries

ENGL 1325: Writing About Literature II

How to Write a Research Question

How to Write a Research Question

Developing a Thesis from a Story or Novel

Close Reading and Critical Reading

How to use RefWorks

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Annotated Bibliography

Research Paper

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

ENGL 1325: Writing About Literature II

How to Write a Research Question

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Annotated Bibliography

Research Paper

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

Additional Links