Skip to main content

ENGL 1325: Writing About Literature II

English class guide for Writing About Literature II

Primary Sources

Prior to 1801 ESTC  English Short Title Catalog

1473-1700 EBBO  Early English Books Online

1701-1800 ECCO  Eighteenth Century Collections Online

1639-1800 Evans  Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw Shoemaker

1801-1819 Shaw  Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition

Databases

Poetry

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc. Infomine is good for subject specific directories.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

  • Archives and Manuscripts
  • Audiovisual
  • Databases
  • General
  • Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

  1. Patents
  2. Statistics
  3. Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

  1. Archives
  2. Audiovisual
  3. Copyright
  4. General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

  1. Archives
  2. Art and Architecture
  3. Classical Languages
  4. Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
  5. General
  6. Law and Politics
  7. Museology
  8. Music
  9. Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Additional Links

top