Recommended Databases for Evolution Topics
See the Boolean Searching Video in the box below for instructions on how to search in these databases.
-
Science & technology collectionA general science database covering journals on all disciplines. Where full text isn't available, follow the Find Full Text links. Search simultaneously with Environment Complete and MEDLINE.
-
Environment completeA database covering journals in ecology and environmental science. Good source for articles on evolution influenced by habitat or environmental factors. Where full text isn't available, follow the Find Full Text links. Search simultaneously with Science and Technology Collection and MEDLINE.
-
MEDLINEThe top biomedical database that covers 1000s of medical and life science journals. Good source for human evolution articles and analysis of evolution at the molecular level. Follow Find Full Text links to obtain articles. Search simultaneously with Science and Technology Collection and Environment Complete.
-
Web of scienceFormerly called Citation Index. A multidisciplinary database that is strong in its coverage of the sciences. Follow the green Find Full Text button to obtain articles. Use All Databases option to search simultaneously with Zoological Records.
Boolean Searching
The quick 2 minute video below shows how to use Boolean Operators to improve searches.
Online Articles Search
Not sure which database to use? Try the Online Articles search from the Libraries homepage. Online Articles searches through 92% of our databases at once, produces a list of full text articles, and will recommend the databases you should use. Follow these steps to try a search:
- Locate the Everything dropdown menu on the right of the Libraries homepage search bar
- Select the Online Articles tab
- Enter 3 or 4 search terms and click on the Search button
On the Results screen, you'll be able to refine the results by date, subject terms, type of publication and more.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
