Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology Encyclopedias and Theory Primers
The anthropology encyclopedias below provide concise explanations of some of the key theories and concepts in the field. In addition to providing basic context information to help students understand anthropology theories, the entries in these encyclopedias reference foundational texts that students can read and cite in research assignments. Click the link to connect to the online resource, then do a keyword search for your topic. Each entry will have a list of references, which, in some cases, will be hyperlinked to other full text resources. If you have trouble linking to a title, you can request assistance from the Anthropology Subject Librarian.
A History of Anthropological Theory, Fourth Edition by
Publication Date: 2013
In the latest edition of their popular overview text, Erickson and Murphy continue to provide a comprehensive, affordable, and accessible introduction to anthropological theory from antiquity to the present. A new section on twenty-first-century anthropological theory has been added, with more coverage given to postcolonialism, non-Western anthropology, and public anthropology. The book has also been redesigned to be more visually and pedagogically engaging. Used on its own, or paired with the companion volume Readings for a History of Anthropological Theory, Fourth Edition, this reader offers a flexible and highly useful resource for the undergraduate anthropology classroom. For additional resources, visit the "Teaching Theory" page at www.utpteachingculture.com.
Readings for A history of anthropological theory by
Publication Date: 2016
This comprehensive anthology offers over 40 readings that are critical to the understanding of anthropological theory and the development of anthropology as an academic discipline. The fifth edition of this popular theory reader maintains a strong foundation in both classical and contemporary anthropological theory with a sharpened focus on gender and anthropology, and the anthropology of new media and technology. Short introductions and key terms accompany every reading, and light annotations have been added to aid students. Used on its own, or together with the overview text A History of Anthropological Theory, Fifth Edition, this anthology offers a flexible and unrivaled introduction to anthropological theory that reflects not only the history, but also the changing nature, of the discipline today.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Publication Date: 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Publication Date: 2013
Social and cultural anthropology and archaeology are rich subjects with deep connections in the social and physical sciences. Over the past 150 years, the subject matter and different theoretical perspectives have expanded so greatly that no single individual can command all of it. Consequently, both advanced students and professionals may be confronted with theoretical positions and names of theorists with whom they are only partially familiar, if they have heard of them at all. Students, in particular, are likely to turn to the web to find quick background information on theorists and theories. However, most web-based information is inaccurate and/or lacks depth. Students and professionals need a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, and why". In response, SAGE Reference is publishing the two-volume Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia.Features & Benefits: Two volumes containing approximately 335 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader′s Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. An appendix with a Chronology of Anthropology Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry and a Master Bibliography at the end guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Publication Date: 1998
Provides a guide to the ideas, arguments, and history of cultural anthropology. Entries contain concise and provocative explanations of key anthropological themes and ideas, and survey important regional traditions of ethnographic research. Coverage includes theories of culture and societies, gender and family, politics and economics, ritual and religion, language, and relations with other disciplines. Includes a biographical appendix, with details on the lives and works of some 200 important figures in the history of anthropology. A glossary defines some 500 terms and concepts.
Streaming Film Databases
We have many streaming films related to anthropology and ethnography, in the library collection. To search by topic within the entire streaming film collection, search the "Books and More" tab on library.unt.edu by topic. Then from the results screen, use the limiters in the left column to limit your results to the resources type, "Video/Film" and limit access to "Online".
You may also search or browse within discrete streaming film collections, such as the ones listed below.
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.
Ethnographic video online
Ethnographic Video Online Resource Type: Reference Title/Alternate Title: Ethnographic Video Online Subjects Covered: Anthropology, Ethnography, Social psychology Contents: Ethnographic Video Online provides a largest, comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This current release includes 815 videos totaling roughly 856 hours.