Searching Tip
To find recent trends and issues in your topic area, it's a good idea to start out reading some review articles. These are secondary sources that discuss a number of other articles. Review articles do not report on research recently conducted by the author.
To search for review articles, include the word "review" in your search terms, e.g., [review arsenic pollution water].
Recommended Databases for Environmental Sciences
See the Boolean Searching Video in the box below for instructions on how to search in these databases.
- Environment completeThis database covers all aspects of the environmental sciences and indexes more than 2000 journals. Many articles are full text in this database; follow the Find Full Text links to locate the rest.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies WorldwideWildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology. Coverage dates back to 1892 and continues up to the present day.
- MEDLINEThis is the National Library of Medicine's database of over 5000 biomedical journals with an EBSCOhost interface. Environmental science topics included are environmental health, environmental monitoring, environmental exposure, environmental policy, environmental pollutants, occupatonal exposure, and conservation of natural resources, Look to the top right of pages to find links to full text articles.
- Web of scienceWeb of Science covers only the top 10,000 journals in all disciplines. Environmental sciences have strong coverage in the database, including earth, water, animal, plants, medicine, and engineering. Click on the green Find Full Text buttons to find full text articles.
- AGRICOLAThis database is run by the Department of Agriculture and has been covering journal since 1970. The subjects of environmental health, environmental impact and risk assessment are well covered in this agricultural database. Follow the Find Full Text Links to obtain full text articles.
Boolean Searching
If the video below is gray, sign into Microsoft Stream with your EUID and password.
Web of Science tutorials
When doing your basic search, select the Web of Science Core Collection. When you identify an article you want, remember to look for the green FIND IT button on the results screen to check whether the library has the full text article. Please contact me if you have questions, about using the Web of Science database.
Web of Science directly exports to the reference manager, RefWorks. All UNT students can get a RefWorks account free of charge. Please contact Erin O'Toole at erin.otoole@unt.edu if you have questions about starting your account.
Online Articles Search
Not sure which database to use? Try the Online Articles search from the Libraries homepage. Online Articles searches through 92% of our databases at once, produces a list of full text articles, and will recommend the databases you should use. Follow these steps to try a search:
- Locate the blue search box on the Libraries homepage
- Select the Online Articles tab
- Enter 3 or 4 search terms and click on the Search button
On the Results screen, you'll be able to refine the results by date, subject terms, type of publication and more.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
