The journal article databases below have excellent coverage of cell biology and many features to tailor and limit your searches. The majority of journals in these databases are peer-reviewed. Tips for using the databases:

• Use the Advanced Search
• Limit your search to peer-reviewed articles
• Create a Boolean search using the default fields
• Use the limiters to narrow your search, e.g., Date of Publication, Linked Full Text, Sex, Age Related, Publication Type
• On the Results screen, use the left panel to narrow your results

Many instructors require you to use peer-reviewed sources for your papers and projects, but what does that mean?

• Peer review is the process of having experts in a field review the quality of an article or book before it is published
• Most articles in scholarly and academic journals are peer-reviewed
• Books published by university or academic presses are peer-reviewed

Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Here are two examples:

To search databases within EBSCOhost simultaneously:

1. Enter one of the databases via the Libraries homepage, under the Databases tab
2. Click on the link, Choose Databases above the search boxes
3. A list of all the EBSCOhost databases that UNT Libraries subscribe to will pop up
4. The database you are already in will be selected; select the other database
5. Click on the OK button at the top left or bottom left of the window to go back to the Advanced Search screen
6. Below the search boxes, select the limiters you want applied to each database
7. and Search!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.