Guides: ANTH 4751: Supernatural-Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion: Article and Media Resources

Peer Review

Many instructors require you to use peer-reviewed sources for your papers and projects, but what does that mean?

Peer review is the process of having experts in a field review the quality of an article or book before it is published
Most articles in scholarly and academic journals are peer-reviewed
Books published by university or academic presses are peer-reviewed

Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles

Search for Films

Ethnographic video online
Ethnographic Video Online Resource Type: Reference Title/Alternate Title: Ethnographic Video Online Subjects Covered: Anthropology, Ethnography, Social psychology Contents: Ethnographic Video Online provides a largest, comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This current release includes 815 videos totaling roughly 856 hours.
Kanopy
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Docuseek2
Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article not in print or online at UNT Libraries? Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow materials at other libraries while you are affiliated with UNT. Update as of March 2023: ILLiad has changed to Single Sign-On (SSO). All patrons should use their university EUID and password to access ILLiad.

TexShare

TexShare is a program that allows members of participating TexShare libraries to have borrowing privileges from libraries besides their own. Many libraries in the state of Texas participate in the program, including public and academic libraries.

University Libraries

ANTH 4751: Supernatural-Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion: Article and Media Resources

Suggested databases for finding scholarly journal articles

Peer Review

Search for Films

Interlibrary Loan

TexShare

ANTH 4751: Supernatural-Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion: Article and Media Resources

Suggested databases for finding scholarly journal articles

Peer Review

Search for Films

Interlibrary Loan

TexShare

Additional Links