Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEMA - HS and EM Photo Library
FEMA offers nearly 50,000 images, videos and multimedia files in their open source library. (Drop down the COLLECTIONS menu for by-subject lists.) FEMA photo guidance is available at: https://www.fema.gov/photo-video-audio-use-guidelines --
Photographs are not protected by copyright unless noted. ... If not copyrighted, photographs may be downloaded, reproduced and distributed without further permission from FEMA and may be used for educational and informational purposes, including photo collections, textbooks, public exhibits and Internet web pages.
Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2012.
EM-DAT International Disaster Database
The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. It is an initiative aimed to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as providing an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.
National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
Environmental Protection Agency -- Emergency Response
EPA responds to oil spills, chemical, biological, radiological releases, and large-scale national emergencies. EPA also provides additional response assistance when state and local first responder capabilities have been exhausted or when additional support is requested.
UC Boulder - National Hazards Center
A basic goal of the Center is to strengthen communication among researchers and the individuals, organizations, and agencies concerned with reducing damages caused by disasters. More than a quarter century of cultivating discourse among these groups has placed the Natural Hazards Center center-stage in both the national and global hazards communities.
Check out the Quick Response Reports in the Publications section of the website and the Web Resources list in the Resources section of the website. Sign up for the Disaster listserve and search the HazLit library catalog for books and other materials, many of which are freely accessible online.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Storm Events Database
The Storm Events Database contains the records used to create the official NOAA Storm Data publication, documenting:
The occurrence of storms and other significant weather phenomena having sufficient intensity to cause loss of life, injuries, significant property damage, and/or disruption to commerce;
Rare, unusual, weather phenomena that generate media attention, such as snow flurries in South Florida or the San Diego coastal area; and
Other significant meteorological events, such as record maximum or minimum temperatures or precipitation that occur in connection with another event.
The database currently contains data from January 1950 to October 2017, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS).
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
focuses on U.S. disasters. It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster situations, federally-dSycamore Libraryared disasters, news releases, fact sheets, and a searchable photo archive.
National Weather Service - Storm Prediction Center Publications
Complete list, with full text, of articles, conference papers, posters, and presentations produced by the Storm Predication Center
UNT Writing Lab
The Writing Lab offers online and in-person tutoring and editing services for students.
UNT Factbooks contain information about the student, staff, and faculty population.
UNT Emergency Management and Safety Services
View the UNT Emergency Preparedness Guide, Emergency Management Plan, Severe Weather Plan, and bomb threat response guidelines.
helpful FEMA and other web documents