Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EADP 3055: EOC Design and Operations: Books

A guide to library resources and research for EADP 3055 students

Course texts

Sycamore Library

Sycamore Library houses a collection of U.S. government publications in addition to emergency management, public administration, geography, political science, and business general collections. Sycamore Library is also home to the juvenile book collection. 

  • The main floor contains:
    • U.S. Documents
    • juvenile collection
  • The mezzanine contains:
    • general collection of books
    • Funding Information Network reference collection
  • The basement contains: 
    • U.S. Documents 

                                              

Click to view full screen                                          Click to view full screen

 

    

Click to view full screen

Finding Books

Locating Books in the UNT Library Catalog

To locate books in the UNT Library catalog, use either a subject or keyword search.  You can access the catalog here: UNT Library Catalog

To search for books in the UNT Libraries' catalog, perform keyword searches with various combinations of terms such as:

  • emergency management
  • disaster relief
  • disaster preparedness
  • emergency preparedness
  • public safety
  • disasters

 

  • universities
  • colleges

 

  • Emergency Operations Center
  • emergency response

 

For example, a good search might look like this: "disasters AND universities"

Note: Print books about Emergency Management will be located either at the Sycamore Library in Sycamore Hall or on the third floor of Willis Library. Many emergency management books will be available in electronic format.

If you wish to browse books on the shelf, possible Library of Congress call numbers for Emergency Management books are:

  • HD49-49.5  (Sycamore Library)
  • HV551.2-639 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)

Locations and maps for the libraries

If you need help using the catalog, you have several options:

  • For general directions, you can go to UNT Library Catalog Help;
  • For in person help in a library on the UNT campus, go to the reference or library services desk in the library where you are working;
  • For personal assistance when you are not in a library, either contact the Emergency Management Librarian or go to Ask Us.

If you need a book that UNT doesn't own, you can borrow it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

Additional Links

top