Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EADP 3055: EOC Design and Operations: Articles

A guide to library resources and research for EADP 3055 students

Where to Start

I suggest that you start your search for scholarly articles in one of the databases in the journal article databases box below or in the UNT Libraries' "Find Articles" search in the box underneath the suggested databases.  "Find Articles" simultaneously searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' subscription databases.  Your "Find Articles" search results will be multidisciplinary.

You may also try searching or browsing within individual emergency management journals, for articles, such as the ones listed below--

Journal Article Databases

Find Articles

Limit To Only:

Newspapers

Search Tips

When you want to search for an exact phrase, such as "Emergency Operations Center", put that phrase inside quotation marks. For example, you could use different variations of the following search terms:

  • "Emergency Operations Center" and technology
  • "Emergency Operations Center" and management
  • disaster response and "Emergency Operations Center"
  • university campus and "Emergency Operations Center"
  • university campus and natural disasters
  • emergency management and schools

The library databases work best if you eliminate "stop" words from your query. Stop words are words such as: a, of, the, in, on.  Natural language usually doesn't produce favorable results in database searches.  Instead choose one or two words or brief phrases and separate them by the word "and" to narrow your search.

Tip: Using AND, OR, and NOT in your searches. AND, OR, and NOT are Boolean Operators that can be used in most databases and search engines.

AND - Include the word AND between each search term, so that the database will return only results that contain every one of the key terms. By including AND between each search term, I have limited my search results and will receive fewer but more relevant articles in my results list. 

OR - you can use OR between terms that have similar meanings, to expand your search results and receive results that contain either of the terms or both of the terms separated by OR. For example, the search query, "emergency management or disaster recovery" will return all results that contain either emergency management or disaster recovery and those that contain both terms. 

NOT - Put NOT between two terms to specify that you want to receive results that contain the first term and not the term following the NOT. For example, the search query, "emergency management NOT medical" will bring back results that contain the term, emergency management but that do not contain the term, medical.

If you use a combination of AND and OR operators in a search, enclose the words to be "ORed" together in parentheses. For example: 

"Emergency Operations Center" NOT (medical OR health)

Additional Links

top