The Civil Rights Act of 1964 was an important milestone in the effort to achieve equality and autonomy for African Americans. In the decades that followed, Black Power, the Black Arts Movement, Black Nationalism, Separatism, and Black Feminism emerged as movements and grew in influence. Independent Voices provides scholars unprecedented access to writings and thoughts of those who led and participated in these diverse movements.

Ebony is one of the key Afro-American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Their editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.

JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 500 issues providing a view of news, culture, and entertainment during the 1980s. Full Release: JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.

The Historical New York Times with Index provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times. Coverage: 1851 - 2019