PLEASE NOTE: These databases are all from our vast subscription database, Alexander Street Press. Once you are in one of their databases, you can search the content of their whole site. This is helpful, because it is not always easy to determine which database would contain the music you want.
Smithsonian Global Sound
An online streaming music database of the world's musical and aural traditions. The database includes 2,900+ albums, comprising over 42,000 tracks. The database includes the published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of numerous influential labels and recording pioneers. Users may search with standard and advanced features or browse the collections by album, genre, instruments, labels, languages, people, ensembles, places or cultural groups.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
The following database from provider Alexander Street Press includes the JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. You can also look up that title in the online catalog discover.library.unt.edu to access separate entries for the dozens of sections it contains.
The following site is freely accessible on the internet:
