Guides: PUBH 2015: Research Methods in Public Health: Find Scholarly Articles

Below are a few examples of scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles relevant to public health.

Thompson, J. R., & Burke, J. G. (2020). Increasing community participation in public health research: Applications for concept mapping methodology. Progress in Community Health Partnerships, 14(2), 243-250. http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/cpr.2020.0025
M Cheetham, A Wiseman, B Khazaeli, E Gibson, P Gray, P Van der Graaf, R Rushmer, Embedded research: a promising way to create evidence-informed impact in public health?, Journal of Public Health, Volume 40, Issue suppl_1, March 2018, Pages i64–i70, https://doi.org/10.1093/pubmed/fdx125
Zhang, Y., Cao, B., Wang, Y., Peng, T., & Wang, X. (2020). When public health research meets social media: Knowledge mapping from 2000 to 2018. Journal of Medical Internet Research, 22(8), e17582-e17582.
McGill, E., Er, V., Penney, T., Egan, M., White, M., Meier, P., Whitehead, M., Lock, K., Anderson de Cuevas, R., Smith, R., Savona, N., Rutter, H., Marks, D., de Vocht, F., Cummins, S., Popay, J., & Petticrew, M. (2021). Evaluation of public health interventions from a complex systems perspective: A research methods review. Social Science & Medicine (1982), 272, 113697-113697. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.socscimed.2021.113697

Library databases for public health research

To find peer-reviewed (aka, "scholarly) articles related to public health, there are several ways you can search.

Select a database in which to search. You may select one of the databases listed below in this box, from either the Social Sciences and Multidisciplinary or the Medical and Health Literature Databases groups. Tip: PsycInfo is the only database that allows you to limit your search by research methodology (qualitative, quantitative, etc.)
Search in the "Online Articles tab on the library website (library.unt.edu). The "online articles" tab is a search aggregator and searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' journal databases simultaneously. Results will be from all disciplines and will be numerous. There is also an "online articles" search widget at the bottom of this page.
Select one individual online public health journal to browse or search within. The public health journals and medical journals boxes on the left side of this page link to peer reviewed journals available through the UNT Libraries.

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
PsycInfo
PsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current
Social Science Database
Social Science Database provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for social science journals. Subject coverage includes anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, psychology, policy studies, social work, and sociology. Journals from over 50 countries are featured, providing for multidisciplinary research from a variety of perspectives. Resources can include scholarly journals, trade journals. magazines, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, newspapers, and other sources.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Health source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides patrons with a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature, with coverage of an array of relevant topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. This database includes more than 355 full-text journals and more than 830 abstracted and indexed journals.