Guides: PUBH 3025: Environmental Health: Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Library databases for public health research

To find scholarly articles related to public health, the library databases linked below are great places to start. Databases below are grouped into two categories: those that are better for searching for medicine, science, and epidemiology literature and those that are better for searching for multidisciplinary and social science literature. You can also search in or browse individual journals that are linked in the environmental public health journals and public health journals boxes on the left side of this page.

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

MEDLINE
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Health source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides patrons with a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature, with coverage of an array of relevant topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. This database includes more than 355 full-text journals and more than 830 abstracted and indexed journals.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.

Social Sciences and Multidisciplinary Databases

Environment complete
This resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
Web of science
Web of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your EUID and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for social science journals. Subject coverage includes anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, psychology, policy studies, social work, and sociology. Journals from over 50 countries are featured, providing for multidisciplinary research from a variety of perspectives. Resources can include scholarly journals, trade journals. magazines, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, newspapers, and other sources.
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current

University Libraries

PUBH 3025: Environmental Health

Environmental Public Health Journals

Public Health Journals

InterLibrary Loan

Library databases for public health research

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

Social Sciences and Multidisciplinary Databases

Database tutorials

PUBH 3025: Environmental Health

Library databases for public health research

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

Social Sciences and Multidisciplinary Databases

Database tutorials

Additional Links