We subscribe to a variety of streaming audio databases. The following include rock and/or closely-related genres such as rhythm & blues. Popular Music Library is probably the most significant for research about rock. All but the Naxos databases are from multi-disciplinary provider Alexander Street Press:
Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Provides sounds of many regions from every continent. The database includes important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
A source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Included are hundreds of powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy The Chief Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, Ma Rainey, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, William Bunk Johnson, Duke Ellington, Sophie Tucker, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker, Sarah Vaughn, Cripple Clarence Lofton, Big Joe Williams, Memphis Jug Band, Roosevelt Sykes, Dizzy Gillespie, Chicago River Kings, Muddy Waters, Blind Willie McTell, and others. Dates of Coverage: 1900s present
Provides online listening to thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Appropriate for any jazz history, performance, theory, or music appreciation course. Labels include Verve, GRP Records, Fantasy, Concord Jazz, Impulse, Jazzology, and many others. The list of artists is enormous, ranging from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Also included are Marian McPartland's Peabody Award-winning Piano Jazz Radio Broadcasts and never-before-released performances from the Monterey Jazz Festival and great jazz venues. Listen to Chicago jazz, New Orleans Jazz, 1920s jazz, big bands, acid jazz, Latin jazz, and more.
This renowned classical music database has now branched out to include other genres:
A vast collection of recorded classical music available via streaming access. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues. Classic pop, blues, contemporary instrumental, gospel, and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented. Includes biographical information on composers or artists. Can be searched by composer, work, genre and label by keyword search. Simultaneous User Limit: 20 users
Recordings include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. Available via streaming access. Dates of Coverage: 1900s present. Simultaneous User Limit: 20 users
PLEASE VISIT THE MUSIC STREAMING AUDIO AND VIDEO DATABASES guide for a list of all such databases we have:
