On this page, you will find general accessibility resources, information on Universal Design for Learning, accessibility information at UNT and national organizations, and what other universities are doing related to accessibility.
Accessibility Guidelines
These resources offer guidance on accessibility, ensuring your digital content meets the highest standards of inclusivity and usability.
- Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2 (WCAG 2)Developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), WCAG provides a set of guidelines for making web content more accessible. The latest version is WCAG 2.1.
- WebAIMDeveloped by the Institute for Disability Research, Policy, and Practice, this website offers accessibility training and workshops on the web, document, and Zoom as well as assistance from expert staff who can evaluate your web content for accessibility.
- WAVE Web Accessibility Evaluation ToolWAVE offers evaluation tools to improve accessibility and remove errors that affect users. WAVE also provides education resources.
Designing with Accessibility In Mind
These resources offer recommendations on how to develop accessible content using Universal Design for Learning (UDL).
- Universal Design for LearningUniversal Design for Learning (UDL) is a scientific educational framework that aims to enhance "teaching and learning." UDL uses science-based theories and models of human learning and cognition.
- UDL on Campus: Universal Design for Learning in Higher EducationThis page specifies how UDL can be adopted for higher education. Higher Ed UDL emphasizes incorporating variability in the classroom and developing UDL-informed policies. This page outlines how educators can create UDL-informed "learning goals, materials, methods, and assessments."
- Resources for Accessible Teaching in Higher EducationUDC Library provides access to teaching resources, reading suggestions, and additional websites that can further the educator's knowledge of UDL and disability.
Professional Organizations
These resources provide information on professional organizations and resources that have been created to help professionals create accessible content.
- Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD)Since 1977, AHEAD has led professionals and educators devoted to disability services and rights within higher education.
- ADA National NetworkThe ADA National Network educates companies, K-12 schools, colleges, and universities on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). They have regional centers that provide specific information, guidance, and training that focuses on the unique needs of each region. The ADA National Network is funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).
- U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights Video SeriesThe U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights provides videos on digital access in education, assistive technologies, Federal regulations, and decreasing access barriers.
- National Federation of the Blind: Higher Education Accessibility Online Resource CenterThe National Federation of the Blind details document and website best practices, assistive technologies, and legal information for the blind community in higher education.
- National Deaf Center: Student Resource PortalNational Deaf Center provides advocacy resources and accessibility guidelines for deaf students and Deaf community.
- National Center for College Students with Disabilities (NCCSD)Housed at the University of Minnesota, the National Center for College Students with Disabilities (NCCSD) is a "federally-funded national center in the U.S/". The NCCSD can provide information and resources to part-time, full-time, undergraduate, and graduate college students with disabilities. The NCCSD works with "students, their families, teachers, professors," and other allies to answer questions about disability and accessibility in higher education.
- EDUCAUSE Accessibility ResourcesEDUCAUSE's Accessibility Resources page provides guidelines and toolkits on accessibility.
- Microsoft AccessibilityMicrosoft's Accessibility page outlines Microsoft's mission to develop more accessible products and provides access to training and technical support pages.
- Apple AccessibilityApple's Accessibility page outlines Apple's mission to develop more accessible products and provides access to training and technical support pages.
Learn from Other Institutions
Learn what other higher education institutions are doing related to accessibility.
- Davidson College AccessibilityThis page offers suggestions and guidelines for universities to improve their accessibility.
- Accessibility U from the University of MinnesotaAccessibility U provides resources foster inclusive access to course sites, websites, Zoom meetings, documents, presentations, applications, and other digital products.
- University of Washington AccessibilityThis page serves as the accessibility hub for the University of Washington.
- California State University Accessible Technology InitiativeThis page provides access to the California State University Accessible Technology Initiative (ATI). ATI includes policies and suggestions for accessibility in instruction, web development, procurement, vender relations, training, and more.
- Utah State University's WebAIM TrainingUtah State's WebAIM training offers robust two-day virtual training on basic web accessibility, "advanced accessibility techniques, international guidelines, [and] legal requirements." The training requires beginner-level HTML skills.
UNT Accessibility Resources
These resources provide information specific to UNT related to accessibility.
- UNT DSI CLEAR: Accessibility Resources for Teaching OnlineCLEAR outlines best practices for online teaching and content development.
- Office of Disability AccessThe ODA is the resource that students wanting classroom accommodations for disabled students.
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS Neurodiversity InitiativeThe UNT Neurodiversity Initiative is a network of groups and programs that provide access and information, host training and event opportunities, and conduct research. These groups and programs aim to increase "awareness, understanding, and acceptance" for neurodivergent students, faculty, and staff at UNT.