Guides: Public Health: Articles

Library databases for public health research

To find scholarly articles related to public health, the library databases linked below are great places to start. Databases below are grouped into two categories: those that are better for searching for medicine, science, and epidemiology literature and those that are better for searching for multidisciplinary, social science, and policy literature. You can also search in or browse individual journals that are linked in the public health journals and medical journals boxes on the left side of this page.

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

MEDLINE
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Health source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides patrons with a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature, with coverage of an array of relevant topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. This database includes more than 355 full-text journals and more than 830 abstracted and indexed journals.
PubMed
MEDLINE - PubMed Abstracts for journal articles covering the broad realm of biomedical literature covered in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and HEALTHSTAR, life science journals (publisher-supplied citations), and online books. Includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and prSycamore Libraryinical sciences. Uses MESH headings as well as keyword searching. , life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library is a collection of healthcare databases that includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Social Sciences, Policy, and Multidisciplinary Databases

Web of science
Web of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your EUID and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.
PsycInfo
PsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current
Social Science Database
Social Science Database provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for social science journals. Subject coverage includes anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, psychology, policy studies, social work, and sociology. Journals from over 50 countries are featured, providing for multidisciplinary research from a variety of perspectives. Resources can include scholarly journals, trade journals. magazines, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, newspapers, and other sources.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.

Database tutorials

National Library of Medicine PubMed tutorials
Check out the tutorials such as: Using the Advanced Search Builder, Subject Search, How PubMed Works, and more.
PsycInfo tutorials - APA Youtube
Web of Science tutorials - Clarivate Web of Science Training Portal
Introduction to Nexis Uni
Introductory video tutorial.

University Libraries

Public Health

Public Health Journals

Medical Journals

InterLibrary Loan

Library databases for public health research

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

Social Sciences, Policy, and Multidisciplinary Databases

Database tutorials

Public Health

Library databases for public health research

Medicine, Science, and Epidemiology databases

Social Sciences, Policy, and Multidisciplinary Databases

Database tutorials

Additional Links