Guides: PUBH 3030: Global Public Health: Research Countries

Find country information - population, economy, health care systems, prevalence of diseases, etc.

World Health Organization Mental Health Atlas
The Mental Health Atlas, released every three years, is a compilation of data provided by countries around the world on mental health policies, legislation, financing, human resources, availability and utilization of services and data collection systems.
Our World in Data - Mental Health
Our World in Data is about "research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems". Explore the various article topics such as mental health, health financing, etc. Data sources are cited at the end of each article and these data sources may prove very helpful for gathering additional information on the topic.
CIA World Factbook
Provides country overviews which provide contextual information about the economy, history, transportation, population demographics, etc.
Commonwealth Fund - International Health Policy Center
Country profiles for 20 developed countries contain detailed information about the health care systems

Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus delivers impartial economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country. The UNT Libraries subscription includes the region of Africa, south of the Sahara.

World Bank Countries and Economies
Alphabetical index of country profiles. Each country profile contains information about poverty, life expectancy, GDP, CO2 emissions, etc.
World Health Organization, Health and Climate Change Country Profiles
data-driven snapshots of the climate hazards and the expected health impacts of climate change countries are facing. The profiles highlight opportunities for health co-benefits from climate mitigation actions, track current policy responses and summarize key priorities for climate and health action.
World Health Organization, Global Health Observatory
Each country page contains information such as total population, life expectancy at birth, and some additional facts. Select Indicators at the top, to view indicators such as noncommunicable diseases, maternal and reproductive health, then narrow by country, to see indicator data by country.
World Health Organization, Data Collections
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.

Health Care Systems Around the World: A Comparative Guide by Sarah E. Boslaugh
ISBN: 9781452276205
Publication Date: 2013
e-book
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country: 1. Emergency Health Services; 2. Costs of Hospitalization; 3. Costs of Drugs; 4. Major Health Issues; 5. Government Role in Health Care; 6. Insurance; 7. Access to Health Care; 8. Health Care Facilities; 9. Health Care Personnel (doctor level of training, etc.); and 10. Public Health Programs. The volume is organized in alphabetical order of country names. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country.
World health systems: Challenges and perspectives by edited by Bruce J. Fried and Laura M. Gaydos
ISBN: 1567935494
Publication Date: 2012
e-book
World Health Systems Challenges and Perspectives, Second Edition, focuses on the realities of 26 health systems around the world. The majority of chapters are written by a representative of each country, who gives readers a first-hand glimpse at the country's health system and the health status. Six introductory chapters provide a framework to help you understand key concepts applicable to all health systems.