Guides: Frisco ENGL 2341: Forms of Literature: Finding Online Sources

Online Resources

Journal Articles

UNT Libraries provides access many electronic journal articles through our online databases. These interdisciplinary databases are great places to search for peer reviewed journal articles or trade articles.

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Project Muse
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
Taylor & Francis online journals
Taylor & Francis Journals is a package offering full-text access to over 200 journals and index access to over 1,600 titles spanning all areas of humanities, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale Academic OneFile offers access to a variety of materials on a wide range of academic subjects, including scholarly journals, podcasts, transcripts, and more.
Sage Journals online
Sage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.

These databases are specifically related to literature. In addition to the interdisciplinary databases listed above, these are great places to search for scholarly articles.

Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature is a comprehensive literature resource that provides full-text journals, literary criticism, videos, dissertations, ebooks, primary texts, and curated author and movement pages. Included in the content are rare texts from black and world writers.

Newspapers

UNT Libraries provides access to a variety of newspapers through our online databases. These databases are a great place to search for current articles in newspapers such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Dallas Morning News, and more.

PressReader
PressReader is a news community where people can read, share, and talk about news. PressReader partners with top magazine and newspaper publishers in over 100 countries to help them distribute their content globally. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
Gale OneFile: News
Gale OneFile: News allows users to search a collection of major newspapers from the U.S. and around the world.
ABI/INFORM
ABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Alternative press index.
Alternative Press Index indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Dates of Coverage: 1991 to present
TOPIC search
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. Focusing on current events, the database allows exploration of social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Dates of Coverage: 2007 Current.
Access world news
Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

In addition to newspapers provided through the databases above, UNT students may also sign up for a free subscription to The Wall Street Journal.

Additional Resources

These online resources may be of interest to students in ENGL 2341.

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center is a database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.
Literary Reference Source
This full-text database provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Works covered are respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content. Content includes 252,000+ author biographies, 35,000+ plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for 450 literary magazines & journals, 690,000+ book reviews, 78,400+ poems from hundreds of sources, 19,700+ short stories, classic texts, 6,600+ author interviews, and multiple literary reference sources.

University Libraries

Frisco ENGL 2341: Forms of Literature

Frisco Landing Library

Get help

Head of Frisco Landing Library

Ask Us!

Online Resources

Journal Articles

Newspapers

Additional Resources

Frisco ENGL 2341: Forms of Literature

Online Resources

Journal Articles

Newspapers

Additional Resources

Additional Links