Guides: ENGL 1310: College Writing I: Journal Articles

Boolean Operator

Use Boolean operators to focus your search and find useful results.

AND - Use AND to narrow your results.

OR - Use OR to broaden your search

NOT - Use NOT to exclude terms from your search

Research

What is the difference between research materials?

Reliability of research

Validity gives confidence in conclusions:

Internal Validity – Cause and effect conclusions from research results illustrating the reasons why.
External Validity – confidence in generalizing findings with other people and situations.
Construct Validity – confidence that the theoretical constructs in the study are reflected in real life situations.

Types of research

Quantitative research – uses codes created to represent an observation through measurement. This gives reliability (consistency to evaluate), falsifiability (hypothesis testing, something is proven wrong) and replication (duplication of the study). This research focuses on answering a particular question.
Qualitative research – observations converted into records based on the observer’s belief in what is important. This research can provide precise details about a witnessed occurrences and the context in which it happens.

Applied Research – directed toward a solution to a problem.

Basic research – to understand the fundamental nature of phenomena.

Altermatt, Bill. “Evaluating Research, Types of Resarch”. 2008. PDF.

Stasis Theory
Stasis theory is a four-question, pre-writing (invention) process developed in ancient Greece by Aristotle and Hermagoras. Working through the four stasis questions encourages knowledge building that is important for research, writing, and for working in teams. Stasis theory helps writers conduct critical analyses of the issues they are investigating.

Databases

EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.

ProQuest
17 Databases use this platform to manage their information.

Project Muse
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
Credo reference
Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC via EBSCOhost Resource Type: Research Database Title/Alternate Title:ERIC Subjects Covered:Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Contents: Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966. Help Links:Click the Helplink at the top right of the screen.
Legal collection
Legal Collection Full text of scholarly law journals, law review journals and legal news publications. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.

Great for Argumentative Papers

CQ Press
CQ Press includes databases, online reference books, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its activities. Dates of Coverage: 1929 - present (varies by source)
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes pro/con essays topic overviews primary source documents biographies of social activists and reformers court-case overviews periodical articles statistical tables, charts and graphs images podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs and a national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline. Dates of Coverage: Current
Communication & mass media complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.

Literature

Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of Coverage: 1973 - Current

Uses EBSCOhost as a platform

Essay and General Literature Index
This database cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans humanities and social sciences. Approximately 300 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications. Nearly 86,000 essays in over 7,000 printed anthologies and collections are included coverage dates as far back as 1985. Subject coverage includes: Archaeology, Architecture, Art, Children's Literature, Classical Studies, Drama, Economics, Fiction, Film, Folklore, History, Linguistics, Music, Poetry, Political Science, Psychology, Religion and Women's Studies.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text of 330+ journals and abstracts and bibliographic indexing of 690+ noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Subjects covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Periodical coverage dates back to 1910.
English short title catalogue 1473-1800.
Comprehensive bibliography that includes items printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800), and Canada; in any language. Also, items printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world.
Early English Books Online.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Starting with the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this is an electronic collection of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, pamphlets and more.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism current and backlist volumes. Each volume covers one or two authors or major works, and includes introductory overviews, bibliographies, excerpts or full-text critical essays, and a list of references for further reading. Authors of all kinds are included – novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians, and other creative writers.

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

ARTstor
ARTstor has over 1 million high resolution images of works from museums around the world, including art and architecture from Neolithic to Postmodern times. Collections include: European paintings, sculpture and decorative arts prints, graphic design, photography, drawings, Asian art, illuminated manuscripts, cave temple works, Egyptian art, Cuban art, Korean and Buddhist monastery and Islamic art and architecture, Medieval and Renaissance art, and prints from the Illustrated Bartsch. Also offers the ability to search for art works by geographic area and then by date. Faculty and students must create an ARTstor account to downloaded images. Use of Artstor images for commercial purposes or on the web in a non-password protected environment is prohibited. Dates of Coverage: 9,500 BCE to present
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Greenwood Digital Collection. Women's studies
Women's Studies E-books via Greenwood is a collection of full-text electronic books about women's roles in business, literature, the arts, media, government, history and health. Dates of Coverage: 1980s to 2006.

Book Databases

Book review digest.
Book Review Digest via EBSCOhost Abstracts/reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals may include reviews of the same book includes children's books. Dates of Coverage: 1983 to present
WorldCat
WorldCat via FirstSearch is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains over 179 million records covering over 400 languages. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Dates of Coverage: Before 1000 BC– Current.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed literature (not all of which the UNT Libraries subscribes to), theses and dissertations, and informal publications like drafts of articles, working papers, and technical reports tied to institutions and individual scholars. Google Scholar provides links to full text for freely available publications and to those to which the UNT Libraries subscribe. Subscription links are only available from on campus or if you visit Settings and choose “University of North Texas System” from “Library Links”.
ProQuest Ebook Central

University Libraries

ENGL 1310: College Writing I

Reference Books

Boolean Operator

Research

Databases

Great for Argumentative Papers

Literature

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Book Databases

ENGL 1310: College Writing I

Boolean Operator

Research

Databases

Great for Argumentative Papers

Literature

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Book Databases

Additional Links