Selected Books
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Databases
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Image Databases
If accessing these databases off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
- ARTstorARTstor has over 1 million high resolution images of works from museums around the world, including art and architecture from Neolithic to Postmodern times. Collections include: European paintings, sculpture and decorative arts prints, graphic design, photography, drawings, Asian art, illuminated manuscripts, cave temple works, Egyptian art, Cuban art, Korean and Buddhist monastery and Islamic art and architecture, Medieval and Renaissance art, and prints from the Illustrated Bartsch. Also offers the ability to search for art works by geographic area and then by date. Faculty and students must create an ARTstor account to downloaded images. Use of Artstor images for commercial purposes or on the web in a non-password protected environment is prohibited. Dates of Coverage: 9,500 BCE to present
- Berg fashion libraryBerg Fashion Library Full-text entries from the entire Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, full-text from over 60 Berg fashion e-books, journal articles and an extensive image bank with 2,000 images from the encyclopedia and 1,600 from the fashion collection of the Victoria & Albert Museum. To open the full-text of the journal article, click DOI on the left navigation bar. Sates of Coverage: Prehistoric era to the present.
Historic Costume e-Books
Use these highly illustrated ebooks to find out what costumes and clothing people were wearing in different historic periods. To open the book, just click on the book cover or title and then the link "Connect to Online Resource" or the "Find It" button. *If you are accessing off campus, you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password before the book will open.
Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume by ISBN: 9780486136462ebook. Click to open. If you would like to make the images larger, download the pdf and zoom in and out, and or increase the resolution setting of your monitor.
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Books
Historic Costume and Fashion: Books
For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the
UNT Online Catalog. Choose the Keyword search. Search the name of the designer or topic in the search box. Ex.: Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco and dress, Medieval and clothing; Medieval and fashion; "Art Deco" and fashion; accessories and renaissance; shoes and history.
Costume and Fashion Identification: Books
Historic Costume Identification Books
*All books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
Survey of Historic Costume
GT580 .T67 1998
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)
GT510 .B6713 1967a
The Guide to Historic Costume
GT507 .B33 1955
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)
GT507 .Y37
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present
GT730 .C37 1994
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
GT507 .E53 2005
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920
GT585 .C37 1986
Encyclopaedia of Fashion
GT507 .O53 1988
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
TT617 .S36
Evolution of Fashion
GT510 .H5 1987
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style
GT2340 .D43 1995
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day
391 C767f
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000
GT511 .N85 2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson)
GT2290 .C6 1970
Fashions in Makeup (Corson)
GT2340 .C67
A History of Men's Fashion
GT1710 .C44 1993
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book
GT1710 .P43 1996
20th Century Fashion
GT596 .P433 1993
Contemporary Fashion
TT505.A1 C66 2002
Visual History of Costume
GT733 .V57 1989
Historic Costume Identification: Microforms
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Microfilm
Visual Catalogue of Fashion and Costume in the Victoria and Albert Museum, 1556-1975. MicF 245
Includes prints, drawings, and plates of costume and fashion designs owned by the museum.
Pacquin-Worth Fashion Drawings, 1865-1956 MicF385
Provides 5,000 illustrations of Parisian fashion designs.
Fashion For America MicF633
Provides information on the U.S. fashion industry during the 20th century created from images in the collection of the Fashion Institute of Technology Library.
Swinging Sixties: Fashion Design in Britain, 1960-1969 MicF 384
Contains images of Sixties designers, haute couture, and manufacturing houses.
London College of Fashion Designer Files MicF 802
Contains 25 years of clippings of various designers' work from fashion magazines such as Vogue and Elle.
New York and Hollywood Fashion and Costume Design from the Brooklyn Museum Collection MicF 366
Provides an overview of fashion and costume design from 1910 through the late 1950s. Includes 657 sketches representing 55 designers. Examples of Hollywood designers included are Charles LeMaire, Edith Head, Walter Plunkett, and Irene.
Film & Theater Costuming Books
Film & Theater Costuming: Books
Located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
*Also see the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Sources tab for great visual reference books.
Survey of Historic Costume
GT580. T67 1998
More Costumes for the Stage
GT1741. J323 1993
American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume
PN2067.03 1982
Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940 (DeMarly)
GT1741.D4 1982
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: A Bibliography and Iconography
Z5691 .J68 2000