Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources of Criminal Justice Statistics
Criminal Justice Information System - Uniform Crime Reporting Program
The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program. The UCR Program publishes annual reports for each of these data collections and a preliminary semiannual report of summary data each winter, as well as special compilations such as Cargo Theft Report, Human Trafficking, and NIBRS topical studies. In addition to the four major data collections, the UCR Program will manage the new National Use-of-Force Data Collection. And the FBI's interactive Crime Data Explorer tool serves as the digital front door for UCR data, enabling law enforcement and the general public to more easily use and understand the massive amounts of UCR data currently collected.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is responsible for collecting, analyzing, and disseminating data on crime, criminal offenders, crime victims, and the operations of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. The BJS is part of the Office of Justice Programs within the Department of Justice.
National Archives of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Over 700 data collections relating to criminal justice. NACJD facilitates and encourages criminal justice research through the preservation and sharing of data resources, and through the provision of training in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data. The following services are available: identification of appropriate criminological and criminal justice data collections on specific topics; custom subsetting of selected data files through an online data analysis system; assistance with the retrieval and use of files obtained from the archive.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics collocates data from over 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Sources include reports from state and federal agencies, research centers, universities, private companies, and other organizations. The publication covers six broad areas: characteristics of U.S. criminal justice systems public attitudes toward crime the nature and distribution of offenses characteristics and distribution of persons arrested judicial processing of defendants and persons under correctional supervision. Dates of Coverage: Varies by statistical measurement some information dates back to 1940s archival versions of previous editions are available for 1994–2002.
Texas Department of Criminal Justice: Statistics
Statistics related to state prisons/jails/private correctional facilities, as well as community supervision of offenders. Data covers executions, death row offenders, criminal justice related appropriations of state funds, inmate health issues, including HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and syphilis, and incidence of employee and offender injury in the prison system. More TDCJ statistics can be found in the Publications section of their Web site.
Hall of Justice
"Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research. While not comprehensive, Hall of Justice contains nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government. The data was collected between September 2014 and October 2015."
Ravel indexes case law at the local, state and federal levels and provides a unique visualization tool to identify and contextualize U.S. case law.
Contains primary source materials, such as the Statutes of the Realm, law journals, legal dictionaries, and much more.
Indexes of Statistical Sources
iPoll Databank Contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Dates of Coverage: last 70+ years
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use Web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. To learn more about Social Explorer, visit https://www.socialexplorer.com/product