Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering

Get Started with the Discovery Park Library

This guide provides helpful tips on finding library resources. The links are a mix of resources available freely online and by subscription through the UNT Libraries. For remote access to library subscribed services, use the following link: off-campus access. Visit the Discovery Park Library website for hours and location information.

General library resources:

Need Assistance?

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need help locating materials for your paper, project, thesis, or dissertation. Select a date and time using the following link if you would like to schedule an in-person or virtual meeting: 

Key Engineering Resources

Academic Search Complete

A scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 – Current 

ACM Digital Library 

Bibliographic citations, abstracts, reviews, and full text for articles published in ACM proceedings and periodicals, covering computer science and engineering, as well as more general computing topics. Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Present

ASTM Standards

ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Users can search through over 12,000 standards through the ASTM Standards Database and refine their search by category, number, or keywords or browse by area of interest. 

Computer and information systems abstracts

Contains Over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Dates of Coverage: 1981 - Current with monthly updates.

Computer source

Contains journal and magazine articles covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. 

De Gruyter Online

De Gruyter is a scholarly publishing house specializing in academic literature. De Gruyter Online includes information on more than 60,000 books, journals, and electronic products, as well as millions of entries from electronic journals, eBooks and databases, and subject coverage which includes architecture, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, history, mathematics, physics, and social sciences, among others.

Emerald

Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals and over 2,500 books, with a significant range of subject coverage. UNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed.

Engineering Source

Resource for engineering disciplines, including biomedical, electrical, mechanical, environmental, and software. It includes hundreds of full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more.   

IEEE Xplore

Full text access to IEEE Journals, Transactions, Magazines, Letters, Conference Proceedings, Standards (current only), and IEE Journals and Conferences. Dates of Coverage: 1988 to current, with some journals and conference titles available from 1950.

A major indexing database of scientific and technical literature.
 
 
Contains full text journals and indexing and abstracts. Topics include: Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
 
 
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
 
 
Includes full-text journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. The topics included are on natural science, engineering, technology, and in addition to many more.
 
 
The Technology Collection contains publications that cover advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas.
 
 
Web of Knowledge provides access to the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities by aggregating the contents of multiple databases (including Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, Zoological Record and Journal Citation Reports). WOK covers over 23,000 high-impact scholarly journals, 23 million patents, 9,000 web sites and 148,000 conference proceedings it provides exhaustive citation indexes for tracking topics or authors through time as well as links to additional external resources. Access to full-text of some resources is provided. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource 1990s– Current, with backfiles to 1900

Additional Links

top