Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Basic and Advanced Library Research

What Are Article References?

An article reference is all of the information about an article you'll need to properly cite it in a paper and then list it in the bibliography. This information includes at least the author, article title, journal title, volume, issue, date of publication, and DOI or access link (if electronic). Ideally, references allow your readers to find the sources your cited. See the Citations and Style guide for details on proper citation.

 

Email Article References from a Database

Most journal article databases give you the option to email yourself the citations for the articles you select from a search. Here's how to do it in EBSCOhost databases.

Navigate to an EBSCOhost database from the Databases tab on the library homepage and conduct a search. Review the articles in the results list. When you find an article you want to use, add it to the folder to the right of the article's title.

 

After gathering the articles, go to the Folder View to the right of the results list.

 

Select the articles you want to email to yourself, and then select the E-mail icon from the tools on the right of the screen.

 

Enter your email address and any other information you want. If the article is full text, you can select the file type and send it as an attachment. Don't forget to select the the citation format you want, and then Send.

 

Export References from a Database

Databases in the EBSCOhost interface can export references directly into your RefWorks account. They can do the same with other reference managers, such as EndNote and Mendeley. About 90% of the library's databases have this function - look for options to Export, Save, or Cite.

To get started with EBSCOhost, follow the directions on the other tab in this box until you have entered your EBSCOhost folder. Then select the Export icon from the tools on the right of the Folder View.

 

Select the button for Direct Export to RefWorks (or whichever reference manager you use). Then click on the Save button on the screen's left.

 

The references will appear in the Last Imported folder of your RefWorks account.

 

If the videos below are gray, sign into Microsoft Stream with your UNT email address and EUID password.

Advanced: Establish a Personal Database Account

Most journal article databases provide a personal account feature, e.g. My EBSCOhost in EBSCOhost databases and My Research in ProQuest Online, which can make your use of the database more effective. You can:

  • save searches and create search alerts
  • create folders and save article references to them
  • save marked articles from one session to the next

Here's how you sign up, using EBSCOhost databases as an example. Navigate to EBSCOhost, select one or more databases and click on the Continue button. Select Sign In from the top toolbar on the right.

Sign in link

 

Select the link at the screen bottom, Create One Now.

Create account link

 

Complete and submit your registration. In the future, sign into your account before starting your research.

Create Your RefWorks Account

If the video below is gray, sign into Microsoft Stream with your UNT email address and EUID password.

Ask Us!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.

Ask Us!

Additional Links

top