Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental history and disaster data
Harris County Flood Control District -- Harris County's Flooding History
Check out the timeline for Houston/Harris County flooding. Other such websites may offer historical information for other major Texas cities.
GenDisasters is focused on providing historical information related to North American accidents and disasters. It includes information on more uncommon incidents such as buggy accidents and cave-ins. It is possible to browse and search by date, location, and type of accident
EM-DAT International Disaster Database
The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. It is an initiative aimed to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as providing an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.
National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Storm Events Database
The Storm Events Database contains the records used to create the official NOAA Storm Data publication, documenting:
The occurrence of storms and other significant weather phenomena having sufficient intensity to cause loss of life, injuries, significant property damage, and/or disruption to commerce;
Rare, unusual, weather phenomena that generate media attention, such as snow flurries in South Florida or the San Diego coastal area; and
Other significant meteorological events, such as record maximum or minimum temperatures or precipitation that occur in connection with another event.
The database currently contains data from January 1950 to October 2017, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS).
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
focuses on U.S. disasters. It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster situations, federally-dSycamore Libraryared disasters, news releases, fact sheets, and a searchable photo archive.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Sources from the Army Corps of Engineers: histories, photographs, etc.