A trade journal is a periodical that targets individuals working in a particular industry, trade or profession. They are often published by industry or professional associations. The articles focus on trends, best practices and events in that field. New practices and trends often appear in trade journals before they appear in scholarly journals.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to select the types of sources that will be included in the search results. It is usually in a list of items called "Publication Type," "Source Type," or "Content Type." Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
Refereed, indicated by the Referee Shirt icon, means the journal is peer reviewed.
Interlibrary Loan Service
If there is article you are looking for but it is not owned by the UNT Libraries, you can make a request for it through our Interlibrary Loan Service. For more information about the service and how to set up an ILLiad account to request materials, visit here.
These are suggested databases you may search within to find articles on your topic. To find other databases the Libraries provides access to, please go to the A-Z Databases.
Hospitality and Tourism Index Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism,and Purdue's former Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index. Together, this collection will eventually contain more than 470,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Dates of coverage: varies by company
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Food Studies Online offers a variety of information related to food studies with 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series. Highlights include documentaries, a series of interviews with small farmers, records from the National Archives related to the school lunch program as well as WWII food campaign (Victory Gardens, for example), restaurant menu collections and more.
UNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed. Patrons may wish to utilize other resources to fulfill their information needs. Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals and over 2,500 books, with a significant range of subject coverage.
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.