The database currently contains data from January 1950 to October 2017, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS). Event types include: avalanche, blizzard, drought, flash flood, flood, hurricane, tornado, lightening, ice storm, wildfire, etc.
Search by state or county, by type of storm event or by date range, for event information that includes: fatalities, number of injuries, amount of property damage, narrative description in some cases, and more.

This site focuses on U.S. disasters. It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster situations, federally-dSycamore Libraryared disasters, news releases, fact sheets, and a searchable photo archive.

The U.S. Agency for International Development’s Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance writes highly detailed incident reports and fact sheets about major disaster responses overseas. Each report includes key developments, a word on context, major interventions by sector, funding data and more.

EPA responds to oil spills, chemical, biological, radiological releases, and large-scale national emergencies. EPA also provides additional response assistance when state and local first responder capabilities have been exhausted or when additional support is requested.

This site, maintained by the United Nations Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters, provides country profiles and allows searching by region, country, time period, and disaster type.

NOAA table data for 1980-2017

Documents the economic cost of extreme weather events in the United States from 1900-1999.

GenDisasters is focused on providing historical information related to North American accidents and disasters. It includes information on more uncommon incidents such as buggy accidents and cave-ins. It is possible to browse and search by date, location, and type of accident

The PREVIEW Global Risk Data Platform is a multiple agencies effort to share spatial data information on global risk from natural hazards. Users can visualise, download or extract data on past hazardous events, human & economical hazard exposure and risk from natural hazards. It covers tropical cyclones and related storm surges, drought, earthquakes, biomass fires, floods, landslides, tsunamis and volcanic eruptions.

This site provides current and historic tropical cyclone, hurricane, and high seas data.

interactive website which allows the user to search the HURDAT data base by location. You may select a major city or latitude and longitude and find how many storms of a particular strength and over particular ranges of time and proximity have approached that point.

This site provides general information and lists of the costliest, deadliest, longest and the most intense events as well as other records and data about tropical storms.

official track set for Atlantic tropical cyclones

This site provides statistics on tornadoes and other severe storms including, monthly totals and averages, and killer tornado statistics for the US Its historical online archive contains data on tornadoes, hail and convective winds. Statistics are given by state from the 1940's to 1995 for injuries, fatalities and costs, overall rankings and more. Most files in the archive must be downloaded and unzipped. (For data after 1995 see the NCEI Web site, described later.)

via Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association, this webpage contains links to 2021 report with data gathered from NOAA data by the National Insurance Crime Bureau.

This site is usually one of the first to post eyewitness accounts of severe weather events occurring in the US It is also a good source for images of tornadoes and severe storms.

NCEI hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth.

Searches multiple databases covering U.S. facilities, releases, spills, accidents related to hazardous wastes, and risk management plans.

The ASN Safety Database, updated daily, contains descriptions of over 21355 airliner, military transport category aircraft and corporate jet aircraft safety occurrences since 1919.

This site offers statistics and data on accidents in the U.S., current and historic, by transportation mode--aviation, highway, marine, rail, pipeline and hazardous materials.

Site has investigation summaries for major chemical accidents in the U.S. and its territories, searchable via keyword or by state or type of accident.

This site contains links to current US drought forecasts and advisories. Other data includes moisture and vegetation indices, water supply conditions and global drought headlines. The "Drought Climatology" section has over 100 years of US drought data mapped and graphed.

The "Flood Archive" has a worldwide index map, report summaries and a table that displays the start and end date, number of deaths, damage estimates and amount of land impacted for flood events from 1994 to present. The site also provides numerous satellite images of flood events.

This site features maps and data covering U.S. and North American drought information.

This U.S. site features maps and tables of current and historic (~ 2004+) flood and drought conditions, nationally and at the state level.

The FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Use the MSC to find your official flood map, access a range of other flood hazard products, and take advantage of tools for better understanding flood risk.

The National Interagency Fire Center provides information on historically significant fires, suppression costs, lightening-caused fires, human-caused fires, and more.

The Geospatial Multi-Agency Coordination or GeoMAC, is an internet-based mapping application originally designed for fire managers to access online maps of current fire locations and perimeters in the United States. Using a standard web browser, fire personnel can view this information to pinpoint the affected areas. With the growing concern of western wildland fires in the summer of 2000, this application also became available to the public.

InciWeb is an interagency all-risk incident information management system. The system was developed with two primary missions: provide the public a single source of incident related information. and provide a standardized reporting tool for the Public Affairs community
This site provides current information on U.S. wildfires including cause, location, and acres affected. Data on this site can be searched up to a year post-incident.

Avalanche.org connects the public to avalanche information and education in the United States. Avalanche.org is a partnership between the American Avalanche Association (A3) and the US Forest Service National Avalanche Center (NAC). The site consolidates data from professional forecast centers to provide real-time avalanche information.

landslide data, including interactive maps

Landslide sites and data, preparedness educational materials, maps, and landslide assessments and more.

The USGS Volcano Hazards Program (VHP) monitors and studies active and potentially active volcanoes, assesses their hazards, and conducts research on how volcanoes work in order for the USGS to issue "timely warnings" of potential volcanic hazards to emergency-management professionals and the public.

"GVP is unique in its documentation of current and past activity for all volcanoes on the planet active during the last 10,000 years. During the early stages of an eruption anywhere in the world we act as a clearinghouse of reports, data, and imagery. Reports are released in two formats. The Smithsonian / USGS Weekly Volcanic Activity Report provides timely information vetted by GVP staff about current eruptions. The Bulletin of the Global Volcanism Network provides comprehensive reporting on recent eruptions on a longer time horizon to allow incorporation of peer-reviewed literature and observatory reports. "

This is the site for information and maps on the latest earthquakes to occur on the globe. It features lists of the largest, deadliest, and costliest earthquakes, an interactive database that produces customized reports and much more.

IRIS is a university research consortium that collects and distributes seismic data. The IRIS Earthquake Browser (IEB) is an interactive map for exploring millions of seismic event epicenters (normally earthquakes) on a map of the world.

This site contains a list of upcoming close encounters with asteroids. It also has an image gallery of impact craters and other information relating to cometary and asteroid impacts.

NCEI and the co-located World Data Service for Geophysics compile a unique set of tsunami-related products as part of a continuing program to support the interests of tsunami warning centers, engineers, oceanographers, seismologists, and the general public.