Music Entrepreneurship: Home

Music entrepreneurship/music business resources

Databases

Music Index 

Indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1970-present, with frequent updates; includes diverse fields of music; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

Business Source Complete

Provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.

Journal

MEIEA

EJOURNAL
New Orleans, La: Music & Entertainment Industry Educators Association, ©2000-

UNT copyright guide

UNT Libraries copyright guide
https://guides.library.unt.edu/SCCopyright

Websites

ASCAP
https://www.ascap.com/

ASCAP title/composer/rights holder search

https://www.ascap.com/ace/

BMI
https://www.bmi.com/
BMI title/composer/rights holder search
http://repertoire.bmi.com/StartPage.aspx

SESAC
https://www.sesac.com/#/

https://www.sesac.com/#/repertory/search


Music Publishers Association
http://www.mpa.org/content/copyright-resource-center

Copyright for Music Librarians from the Music Library Association
https://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/BlankCustom.asp?page=copyright_home

Harry Fox Agency
https://www.harryfox.com/

Books

All you need to know about the music business
EBOOKS
Donald S. Passman
New York: Free Press, 2012
MUSIC ONLINE RESOURCES  ML3790 .P35 2012           ONLINE              Single User Access

Artist management for the music business
EBOOKS
Paul Allen, 1946- author
Burlington, Massachusetts; Oxfordshire, England: Focal Press, 2015
UNT ONLINE RESOURCES        ML3790 .A45 2015           ONLINE              Single User Access

This business of music: the definitive guide to the music industry
BOOKS
M. William Krasilovsky
New York: Billboard Books, ©2000
Willis 4FL Music Library             ML3790 .S5 2000             
Willis 4FL Music Audio Coll         LPCD-ROM 82683         

Music business handbook and career guide
BOOKS
David Baskerville
Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications, ©2006
Willis 4FL Music Library             ML3795 .B37 2006

The art of music publishing: an entrepreneurial guide to publishing and copyright for the music, film and media industries
Helen Gammons
EBOOKS
Publication Info: Amsterdam; Boston: Focal Press, 2011
UNT ONLINE RESOURCES        ML3790 .G25 2011          ONLINE

The music industry handbook
EBOOKS
Paul Rutter, 1960-
New York: Routledge, 2011
UNT ONLINE RESOURCES        ML3790 .R87 2011           ONLINE              Single User Access

The savvy musician: building a career, earning a living & making a difference
David Cutler, 1971- author
Pittsburgh, PA: Helius Press, 2010
Willis 4FL Music Library             ML3790 .C88 2010          


 

UNT's new program, Career Development and Entrepreneurship in Music

 

Profile Image
Reference Librarian:
Donna Arnold
Subjects:
Music, French, German, Spanish
Contact Info
940.565-2860
Send Email

Additional Links

top