Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites to help identify a topic
Browsing these websites may help you identify a topic you are interested in researching.
Center for Problem-Oriented Policing
"The mission of the Center for Problem-Oriented Policing is to advance the concept and practice of problem-oriented policing in open and democratic societies. It does so by making readily accessible information about ways in which police can more effectively address specific crime and disorder problems.
The Center for Problem-Oriented Policing is a non-profit organization comprising affiliated police practitioners, researchers, and universities dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing."
Office of Justice Programs
"The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America, and providing grants for the implementation of these crime fighting strategies. Because most of the responsibility for crime control and prevention falls to law enforcement officers in states, cities, and neighborhoods, the federal government can be effective in these areas only to the extent that it can enter into partnerships with these officers. Therefore, OJP does not directly carry out law enforcement and justice activities. Instead, OJP works in partnership with the justice community to identify the most pressing crime-related challenges confronting the justice system and to provide information, training, coordination, and innovative strategies and approaches for addressing these challenges."
CrimeSolutions.gov - National Institute of Justice
The National Institute of Justice’s CrimeSolutions.gov is comprised of two components — a web-based clearinghouse of programs and practices and a process for identifying and rating those programs and practices.
Learn more about topics
Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology provides a list of criminal justice-related topics. Each topic entry defines/introduces the problem and provides a list of suggested readings and key articles on that topic.
You can search Credo Reference to get an overview of a topic and current research related to the topic.
Sage Research Methods Cases provides examples of criminal justice research projects. These examples could help you choose a methodology for your research proposal. Search by "criminal justice" generally to browse some research projects or search with a specific criminal justice-related topic.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology offers peer-reviewed annotated biblgraphies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon.
You can browse by topic or search. Entries contain introductions and overviews of the issue + a list of scholarly sources on that topic.
Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current
Sage Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects. Subject coverage includes sociology, health, criminology, education, anthropology, psychology, business, political science, history, economics, among others.