Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly electronic publishing bibliography
Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography contains elected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet. The bibliography covers a wide range of topics, such as digital copyright, digital libraries, digital preservation, digital repositories, e-books, e-journals, license agreements, metadata, and open access. A limited number of pre-1990 key resources are included. Dates of Coverage: 1990 - current
Serials Directory from EBSCO provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information plus current pricing structures for popular serials. The database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. Dates of Coverage: Current.
Ulrichsweb provides information on serials publications from throughout the world, including journals, magazines, newsletters, newspapers, and electronic publications. It includes a description of the product, frequency of publication, publisher contact information, availability in other editions or formats, and indexing coverage.
Biography reference bank
Biography Reference Bank via Ebscohost contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Dates of Coverage: 1984 - present
Boolean logic is used to search most databases. By using connecting terms like AND, NOT, and OR searches can be broadened or narrowed.
Below is a brief tutorial, (0:27) explaining how Boolean logic works.
This last video is a lighter take on Boolean logic, (6:54). Along with a good laugh, the video provides expert information on how to properly conduct a search using a database or search engine.
Here is more help on using Boolean operators when searching.
Classification Web Full Text schedule display of all Library of Congress classification schedules. Links are provided between the LC classification numbers and LC subject headings. Dates of Coverage: Updated weekly
Standards for the representation of bibliographic data in machine-readable form.
OCLC Bibliographic Standards
An extensive guide which outlines input standards for bibliographic information contained in WorldCat records, subdivided by fields.
Research Handouts & Database Guides
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Concise Dictionary of Library and Information Science - Print Resource
This dictionary includes more than 4000 words, including terms regarding new technology.
Dictionary of Information Science and Technology - Print Resource
The premier comprehensive reference source for the latest terms, acronyms and definitions related to all aspects of information science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information - Print Resource
Three-volume encyclopedia that summarizes the current state of knowledge in the communication and information science fields, which are changing rapidly.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology - Electronic Resource
Comprehensive, research-based encyclopedia consisting of contributions from over 900 noted researchers in over 50 countries.
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management - Electronic Resource
Provides a compendium of terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms addressing the challenges of knowledge management.
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book - Print Resource
This resource provides the user with more than 10,000 terms, acronyms, and organizations regarding library and information sciences.
IGI Global (formerly Idea Group Publications) - Electronic Resource
IGI Global (formerly Idea Group Publications) consist of 8 encyclopedias and handbooks about knowledge and research in the areas of information science and information technologies.
International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science - Print Resource
This encyclopedia contains twelve articles on topics that underlie the foundation of information and library science, including informatics, information policy, and knowledge management. There are also a variety of smaller articles.
ODLIS - Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science - Electronic Resource
ODLIS is designed as a hypertext reference resource for library and information science professionals, university students and faculty, and users of all types of libraries.
Tech Terms Computer Dictionary - Electronic Resource
A free online dictionary of computer and technology terms.
Amser Techweb's Technology Encyclopedia - Electronic Resource
Provides more than 20,000 definitions of computer terms and concepts.
Online Book Reviews
ARBAonline American Reference Books Annual
ARBAonline provides reviews of reference books written by librarians for librarians. Dates of Coverage: 1997 - present
Book Review Digest
Book Review Digest via EBSCOhost Abstracts/reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals.
Published by the American Library Association, Booklist magazine delivers over 8,000 recommended-only reviews of books, audiobooks, reference sources, video, and DVD titles each year. Spotlight issues provide coverage on popular genres, topics and themes such as biography, young adult, multicultural literature, graphic novels, romance, sports, and much more.
Bowker's Books in print
Bowker's Books in Print with Reviews Provides ordering information for English-language books published throughout the world. Reviews are included for selected books. Dates of Coverage: Current
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database provides over 200,000 reviews of children's books, videos and audio books from 24 reputable sources.
Children's Literature in Education
Children's Literature in Education has been a key source of articles on all aspects of children's literature for almost 40 years. It covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for infants through to material for young adults. It features fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material.
Published by the American Library Association, Choice provides current reviews for academic libraries.
Educational media reviews online
Educational Media Reviews Online database Contains more than 2000 reviews of educational videos, DVDs and CD-ROMs, written by librarians and teaching faculty from the United States and Canada. The University at Buffalo-SUNY sponsors the database, which focuses on adult media, but also contains reviews for grades K-12 media.
The Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books
Published each spring and fall by the Horn Book, Inc., the authoritative Horn Book Guide publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people.
The Horn Book Magazine
Reviews of children's books, articles and interviews of authors and illustrators.
New York Times Book Review
This resource is a weekly supplement that reviews all current fiction and non-fiction books.
News and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television.
Suggested LIS Journals
UNT's Libraries provide access to thousands of journals. Below are only a small number of the journal titles offered relating to Library and Information Sciences.
Cataloging and Classification Quarterly
Taylor and Francis Online- “Cataloging and Classification Quarterly” provides an international forum to collect information on the field of bibliographic organization.
Via ProQuest Research Library- “Collection Building” provides authoritative information on collection development for librarians across the field.
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal provides practical, research –based information about building, administering, preserving, assessing, and organizing library collections.
The Electronic Library
Via ProQuest Research Library- “The Electronic Library” provides publications on applications and implications of new technology, automation, digitization, the internet, user interfaces, and networks for all types of libraries.
International Information and Library Review
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This scholarly journal provides articles on research and development in international and comparative librarianship, information science, information policy, digital values and digital libraries.
Journal of Librarianship and Information Science
Via SAGE Journals- JOLIS is a peer reviewed journal for librarians, information scientists, specialists, managers and educators in the field.
Journal of Library Metadata
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal promotes the importance of metadata in libraries and other institutions.
Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology
Via LISTA through EBSCOhost- This scholarly journal provides for the fields of documentation and information science.
Library and Information Science (Research)
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This peer-reviewed journal focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings, and their practical applications and significance.
Library Collections Acquisitions and Technical Services
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This journal provides current information on library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities worldwide.
Library Hi Tech News
Via ProQuest Research Library- LHTN provides accessible information for library professionals on current library and information science events and developments.
Via Emerald Insight - “Library Review” aims to provide an international com channel between researchers, educators and library professionals across the library field.
Children's literature comprehensive database
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels select trade books based on standards create thematic, annotated biographies interpret reviews develop STEM book collections and more. Distant education students use a World Cat link to find materials at a local library. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments. Student access is FREE for one year after graduation.
TeachingBooks.net is a website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with resources selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Scholar is a great way to use Google for academic searching!